Research Guides

League of Nations

Research Guide for the League of Nations Archives

Digitized Collections: League of Nations Official Documents

The League of Nations Council and Council and Member States documents (official documents distributed to members of the Council and to both the Council and all Member States, respectively) are now available in the BETA release of the Enterprise Search for the United Nations. 

Please note this is a pilot project in collaboration with the Office of Information and Communication Technology; changes and improvements to the search functions and results are likely to occur in the coming weeks.

Digitized Collections: Accessible Online in the Archives Catalogue

The contents of the Bertha von Suttner Papers and the Sean Lester Papers are available electronically in the Archives Catalogue.

To access PDF files of the digitized content, use the links below and stay in 'Detail View'. Select 'Localize in archive plan' to see the documents, files, sub-series, etc., in the archival tree structure.

World Health Organization (WHO): League of Nations Material on Health

After the demise of the League of Nations, the Health Section became the World Health Organization (WHO), founded 7 April 1948 and based in Geneva.

League of Nations Photo Archive

International Labour Organization (ILO) Archives

The ILO Archives provide online access to many League of Nations publications: ILOLEX, Database of International Labour Standards (mainly conventions), the Official Bulletin 1919-, and several other important official documents concerned with labour from 1919 onwards.