Research Guides: League of Nations: Disarmament: Finding Aids and Bibliographies

Disarmament and the United Nations

Biological Weapons
Chemical Weapons
Conventional Weapons and the Arms Trade
Disarmament: Global Issues
Landmines and Explosive Remnants of War
Nuclear Weapons
Science & Emerging Technology
This disarmament research guide aims at giving a broad range of resources about current technological developments under both a technological and arms control perspective. It was developed in cooperation between the Geneva branch of the United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs and the United Nations Library Geneva.

"Protocol for the Prohibition of the Use in War of Asphyxiating, Posionous or Other Gases...
Protocol for the Prohibition of the Use in War of Asphyxiating, Poisonous or Other Gases, and of Bacteriological Methods of Warfare. Geneva, 17 June 1925, in force since 1928.
"A Task for the League of Nations" (1919)
Newspaper cutting. Westminster Gazette (London). Sep. 10, 1919. LON Archives, R185-8-1183-1183.
"Facts on Disarmament" [1921]
Selection of cards from "Facts on Disarmament", Exhibit of 20 cards. Issued by the Disarmament Education Committee, 629 G St. N.W., Washington, D.C., [1921].

LON Archives, Brochure and Pamphlet Collection, 29-4.

Chemical warfare was a major concern after World War I. An important agreement was reached with the "Protocol for the Prohibition of the Use in War of Asphyxiating, Poisonous or Other Gases, and of Bacteriological Methods of Warfare" (Geneva, 17 June 1925, in force since 1928).

"Répertoire Général 1919-1946", Société des Nations
Chapter "Disarmament Section" in "Repertoire General 1919-1946", Societe des Nations, Vols. I-III: pp. 580-590.
"A Repertoire of League Serial Documents, 1919-1947" (1973) Ghebali & Ghebali
Chapter "Disarmament" in Victor-Yves Ghebali and Catherine Ghebali. A Repertoire of League Serial Documents, 1919-1947/ Repertoire des Series de documents de la Societe des Nations 1919-1947. Dobbs Ferry, NY: Oceana, 1973. 2 vols.

"Disarmament: A Bibliography of Material in the St. Louis Public Library" (1931)
"Disarmament: A Bibliography of Material in the St. Louis Public Library." Compiled by Mary Bell McConkey, Assistant in the Open Shelves Department. St. Louis, 1931.
"Select List of References on Disarmament" (1921)
"Select List of References on Disarmament", Prepared in the Library of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, 1921. LON Archives, Brochure and Pamphlet Collection 30-9.
"Annotated Bibliography on Disarmament and Military Questions" (1931)
Annotated Bibliography on Disarmament and Military Questions, League of Nations Library, Geneva, 1931.

League of Nations Statistical and Disarmament Documents
Northwestern University Library's digital collection League of Nations Statistical and Disarmament Documents contains the full text of 260 League of Nations documents.

"Statistical Enquiry on Armaments" (1922)
"Statistical Enquiry on Armaments." League of Nations: Temporary Mixed Commission for the Reduction of Armaments. First Series of Data. Geneva 1922.
"Armaments Year-book" (1924): Introduction and Contents
League of Nations, "Armaments Year-book. General and Statistical Information." Geneva, September 1924. (A. 37. 1924. IX.) Introduction and Contents.

Selection of pamphlet covers from the Brochure and Pamphlet Collection
Selection of pamphlet (covers only). LON Archives, Brochure and Pamphlet Collection 30-7, 30-8, 34-4 and 37-12.

The UNOG Library Catalogue and the Brochure and Pamphlet Collection hold a range of publications on disarmament from the 1920s and 1930s.

"Multilaterals Project: Rules of Warfare, Arms Control"
Although the project is archived, it is still accessible.
more...less...
"The Multilaterals Project, begun in 1992, is an ongoing project at The Fletcher School, Tufts University, Medford, Massachusetts to make available the texts of international multilateral conventions and other instruments." The collection includes treaties in the fields laws of war and arms control, with some historical texts.
Disarmament Research Guide
Treaty of Versailles 1919 (including Covenant of the League of Nations)
more...less...
Australia's authenticated copy in the digital archive "Documenting a Democracy."
University of Wisconsin Digital Collections: Foreign Relations of the United States
more...less...
"This digital facsimile of Foreign Relations of the United States is a project of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries in collaboration with the University of Illinois at Chicago Libraries. This is an incomplete run from 1861-1960 with missing volumes being added as they can be acquired and processed." Search or browse the period 1919-1946 for documents related to the LON and disarmament.

League of Nations Archives Research Guide Go to the main page: League of Nations Archives Research Guide.

UN Archives Geneva Platform Gives access to the fonds and collections managed by the UN Library & Archives in Geneva, including the archives of the United Nations in Geneva, the League of Nations (1919-1946), international peace movements (from 1870), and private papers.