Research Guides United Nations Office at Geneva Library & Archives

United Nations Conference on Trade and Development

UNCTAD Secretaries-General

The Secretary-General of the UN Conference on Trade and Development, appointed by the Secretary-General of the United Nations and confirmed by the General Assembly, heads the UNCTAD Secretariat for the servicing of the Conference, the Trade and Development Board and its subsidiary bodies.

Below is a list of all Secretaries-General of the Conference, to date:

  • Mr. Mukhisa Kituyi (Kenya)   2013 - Present

  • Mr. Supachai Panitchpakdi (Thailand)   2005 - 2013

  • Mr. Rubens Ricupero (Brazil)   1995 - 2004

  • Mr. Kenneth K.S. Dadzie (Ghana)   1986 - 1994

  • Mr. Gamani Corea (Sri Lanka)   1974 - 1984

  • Mr. Manuel Pérez-Guerrero (Venezuela)   1969 - 1974

  • Dr. Raúl Prebisch (Argentina)   1963 - 1969

Visit UNCTAD website to find the biographies of the current and former Secretaries-General.

Publications about UNCTAD Secretary-General

UNCTAD Secretariat Organizational Chart

UNCTAD Organigram

Click on the image for a larger view

Source: UNCTAD Website, (Accessed: 18 June 2014).