Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Guides United Nations Office at Geneva Library & Archives

Electronic Resources: Databases, A-to-Z

News

book icon

Request a personal eBooks login

UN Staff or those of Permanent Missions based in Geneva may request a personal login credentials for access to eBooks on the eBook Central and Ebscohost platforms.

 

New Guide to Services and Resources available at Distance

Remote access to UN Library Geneva e-resources subscriptions

 

UN Geneva Library's collections include thousands of electronic journals, books, and databases.

In order to access our electronic collections when working away from the Palais des Nations (telecommuting or on Mission) UN Geneva staff can request their own remote access credentials by completing this form:

UNOG Library Electronic Resources Collections

Your library provides access to many online databases. Use the tabs in this resource guide to find databases by title or by subject category.

The majority of these databases are accessible from all workstations within the Palais des Nations.  Please contact us to ask about conditions for access to these resources or to arrange for a training session: https://ask.unog.ch/library 

Copyright Warning

Please note that all resources should be used solely for official purposes. It is strictly forbidden to store or redistribute the contents beyond personal use.

It is also strictly prohibited to copy or download an entire issue or issues of a journal from these resources.

Any breach of these terms will result in the immediate termination of all access by the provider.  We therefore kindly ask that UN colleagues and other Library clients be responsible users of copyrighted material.

Disclaimer

This site contains links and references to third-party databases, websites, books and articles. It does not imply the endorsement of the content by the United Nations.

Find Databases by Name

A

  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Online full text edition of Africa Confidential. Fortnightly analysis of political and economic developments and a forecast of both general trends and specific events in Africa (with occasional special supplements).
Coverage: 1999+. Access: If a registration form appears, please fill it in.
  • Free access
The African Journal Archive is a retrospective open access journal service that preserves and makes available African journal literature dating as far back as 1906, originating from a wide base of publishers and societies on the African continent.
  • Free access
A leading resource on African law and governance, providing access to modern and customary law texts, and to other legal documents and secondary sources in Africa.
AGROVOC is a controlled vocabulary covering all areas of interest to the Food and Agricultural Organization of the UN (FAO), including food, nutrition, agriculture, fisheries, forestry, environment etc.
Statistical resource on AIDS and HIV worldwide.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Content from 130 African news organizations, including full-text news stories in English and French, multi-lingual video streaming, along with a searchable archive of over 900,000 articles.
Temporary
Collection of 20+ covid19 related articles
The Analytical Guide to the Work of the International Law Commission (ILC) is designed to assist the researcher interested in the work of the Commission. It is organized by topics, subdivided into categories and stages of consideration within the Commission; thus tracking the development of each topic on its programme of work from inception to conclusion.
  • Password restricted.  Please ask Librarian about conditions for access.
Full text of decisions of the ICTY, ICTR, The Special Court for Sierra Leone, The International Criminal Tribunal for Timor-Leste and the ICC; selected cases are summarized and annotated by experts.
Temporary
Indexes 30+ annual reviews throughout the natural & social sciences, many with full text through Academic Search Complete.
Contains full-text of recent annual reviews of the life sciences, psychology, and anthropology.
Temporary
In order to help inform dialogues and promote understanding about antiracism and racial justice, Cornell University Press is making this collection of ebooks available for free through August 31, 2020.
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Annual Report on Exchange Arrangements and Exchange Restrictions
The Annual Report on Exchange Arrangements and Exchange Restrictions (AREAER) tracks the exchange rate and trade regimes of all members of the International Monetary Fund (currently 189 countries) and three territories (Aruba, Hong Kong SAR, and Curaçao and Sint Maarten—formerly the Netherlands Antilles). AREAER Online provides direct access to the data used to create the yearly reports beginning in 1999.
Asia-Pacific Trade and Investment Agreement Database (APTIAD) is an online database of trade agreements in the Asia-Pacific region contains information on all preferential agreements within the region, an agreement-country matrix, and an advanced search engine allowing to locate agreements by country, agreement name, status, scope, WTO notification status, and keywords.
The research library contains links to other web-based resources providing international law-related materials. The library is divided into four components: resources relating to treaties; materials concerning the jurisprudence of international courts and tribunals; access to selected UN publications and repositories; and selected scholarly writings in international law.

B

Temporary
Free access to all Berghahn Journals – new issues and all back issues.
Temporary
Coronavirus related articles in 3 journals: Avian Diseases, Journal of Wildlife Diseases, and Journal of Zoo and Wildlife Medicine
Temporary
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Brill Online Books (COVID-19 Access)
59 ebooks on epidemics, containment strategies, homeschooling, distance learning, and crisis response. If any new related content is published with Brill, it will be added to this collection.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Full text electronic version selected Martinus Nijhoff Publishers books in the broad field of human rights and humanitarian law. UNOG Library has purchased access to a selection of titles.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
International Law E-Books Online is the electronic version of the book publication program of Martinus Nijhoff Publishers in the broad field of international law. UNOG Library has purchased access to select titles.
Temporary
All paid content from Institute of Historical Research, University of London is now open access until end of July
Browzine This link opens in a new window Description of this database.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR

C

  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
French language database covering the humanities and social sciences. Allows searching and provides access to abstracts of 150 journals. Full-text access to 58 journals including Economie internationale, Mondes en dveloppement and Revue internationale de droit conomique.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Includes access to select e-journal subscriptions and open-access titles.
Temporary
Collection of articles and book chapters matching 'Coronavirus'
Temporary
Global resource site for access to the world’s leading research & news around the coronaviruses
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Brill Climate Change and Law Collection
This comprehensive collection of climate change and law documents contains original source, non-edited and non-redacted “grey literature” (non-peer reviewed) in English, centered on climate change and the law. Incorporated in the category of ‘law’ is any discipline of law which addressed climate change, including corporate law, environmental law and human rights law.
Temporary
1640+ articles regarding COVID-19, cost for OA publication and related services will be completely covered by CNKI
Temporary
Special collections on evidence relevant to critical care; infection control and prevention measures; and remote consultation and home-based care
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Hague Academy Collected Courses
Since 1923 The Hague Academy of International Law organizes prestigious post-university summer courses in private international law and public international law. The courses are published in the book series "The Hague Academy Collected Courses", now comprising over 360 volumes. This comprehensive online version includes full-text search.
Information Centre for the the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD). Access to meeting documents, documentation, databases, major publications and more.
New Temporary
WHO is gathering the latest international multilingual scientific findings and knowledge on COVID-19. The global literature cited in the WHO COVID-19 database is updated daily from searches of bibliographic databases, hand searching, and the addition of other expert-referred scientific articles. This database represents a comprehensive multilingual source of current literature on the topic. 
Temporary
The Sphere Handbook and the other Humanitarian Standards Partnership (HSP) initiatives offer guidance on the minimum response all crisis-affected people have the right to expect. They establish what needs to be in place for affected populations to survive and recover with dignity.
"A COVID-19 portal which aggregates real-time information updates from authoritative sources to provide information on all aspects of the COVID-19 pandemic. The healthcare information community can use it to get real-time, credible information."
The information centre of the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) provides access to documentation such as reports, press releases, and meeting documents related to CTBTO activities.
A collection of legal texts, agreements, national implementation measures, and other documentation relating to the work of the The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO).

D

Includes Total Population, Urban/Rural Population, International Migrant Stock and World Population Policies databases.
Collection of the UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA), Statistical Division databases, including commodity trade statistics, census knowledge, disability statistics, good practices, joint oil data, millennium data indicators, population, and social indicators.
Temporary
Exportable file of all relevant content on COVID-19 in Dimensions.
Website listing various resources on training in the field of disarmament; among them a video library, podcasts, presentations, and resources for teachers and students. Maintained by UNODA (Office for Disarmament Affairs).
  • Free access
Discover and access academic peer-reviewed books from 175 publishers.
  • Free access
Directory of over 2000 free, full text scientific and scholarly journals.
Portal for searching publicly available documents from the Division for Ocean Affairs and Law of the Sea (DOALOS) website.

E

  • Free access
e-Helvetica Access is a specialised database that provides access to digital and digitised collections of the Swiss National Library and to Web Archive Switzerland. Ii includes: websites of historical importance, books, periodicals, university and official publications that have been published in electronic form. You will also find printed publications that have been digitised. Please note that access to certain documents is restricted for copyright reasons and that the use of documents must comply with specific use regulations.
  • Free access
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: revues
Swiss journals online, an ETH Zurich Library service, provides open access to digitized Swiss journals.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: eBrary Government Complete
Full-text e-books on a wide range of topics, including history, psychology, business, political science, and gender studies.
UN Staff or members of Permanent Missions based in Geneva can request individual eBook logins for remote access here: LINK
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
New
UN Staff or members of Permanent Missions based in Geneva can request individual eBook logins for remote access here: LINK
 
The Yearbook series is a result of joint efforts by major African regional organizations to set up a joint data collection mechanism of socioeconomic data on African countries as well as the development of a common harmonized database.
 
Repository holding publications and documents of the Economic Commission for Africa (ECA).
 
Library catalogue of the ECA (Economic Commission for Africa).
 
Statistical database of ECE, the Economic and Social Commission for Europe. Includes country overviews and statistics on economics, forestry, gender, transport, and other areas.
 
Statistical database of ECLAC, the Economic and Social Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes social, demographic, economic, environmental, and other statistics.
 
Catalogue of the library for the Economic and Social Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean.
 
Provides access to more than 35,000 ECLAC publications in digital format, ranging from the first publication of ECLAC in 1948 to the most recent ones. All documents are available in full-text.
 
ecoi.net provides up-to-date and publicly available country of origin information, including non-governmental, governmental and international organisations, news, maps and national laws.
 
ECOLEX is an information service on environmental law, operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP. The database includes information on treaties, international soft-law and other non-binding policy and technical guidance documents, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Full text articles from the Economist.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Access to articles from the current issue and previous issues of the Economist (1998- ) available via EIU.com
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
 
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
The EIU’s flagship service examines and explains the important political and economic trends in a country. Each Country Report contains in-depth and ongoing analysis and forecasts of political, policy and economic conditions in a country.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Key economic and industry data and forecasts.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
A set of databases on international business intelligence prepared by the Economist Intelligence Unit: China Hand, Country Commerce, CountryData, Country Finance, Country Forecast, Country Monitor, Country Profile, Country Report, Executive Briefing, Global Outlook, Risk Briefing, ViewsWire, World Commodity Forecasts and Worldwide Regulatory Update. Provides continuously updated, comprehensive analysis of political and economic trends, global outlook on macroeconomics, risk and executive briefings, international business newsletters, statistical tables of historical data, and more, on nearly 200 countries. Also provides access to The Economist, European Voice and Roll Call: The Newspaper of Capitol Hill since 1955.
 
Comprehensive and accurate legal information on the steps taken by the international community and individual countries in the fight against international terrorism. The site is maintained by the UN Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC).
 
Freely available Open Acess to select Edward Elgar publications.
Temporary
Journal Article hubs from Elsevier, Lancet and Cell Press as well as Springer Nature, Wiley, NEJM, BMJ, ASM, and Chongqing VIP
Temporary
22+ expert briefings, journal articles, and book chapters related to coronavirus and the management of epidemics
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Full text
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Includes the complete text of the online version of Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Book of the Year and Timeline Browse. Includes more than 130,000 links to the web sites selected by Britannica editors. Updated continually.
  • Password restricted.  Please ask Librarian about conditions for access.
 
  • Free access
Full text
 
Enterprise Surveys, an International Finance Corporation (IFC)/World Bank database, offers an expansive array of economic data on 130,000 firms in 135 countries. The surveys cover a broad range of business environment topics including access to finance, corruption, infrastructure, crime, competition, and performance measures.
 
The authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. More than 500 different variables, such as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets. Display them on-the-fly as maps, graphs, data tables or download the data in different formats.
 
The Employment Protection Legislation database (EPLex) of the International Labour Organization provides information on key topics that are regularly examined in national and comparative studies on employment termination legislation.
 
Statistical database of ESCAP (Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific). Includes population, health, education, labor, infrastructure, finance, trade, environment, gender, and other statistics.
 
Catalogue of the library for the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific.
 
The ESCAP Trade, Investment and Innovation Division and the World Bank joined hands to develop a common standard methodology for calculating comprehensive international trade costs and provide the research and policy community with a global reference. The current version includes data from 1995 to 2015 for over 180 countries.
 
Developed by the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia.
 
Catalogue of the library for the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia.

F

  • Password restricted.  Please ask Librarian about conditions for access.
News and business information from 152 countries in 22 languages. Includes key news wires; key newspapers; TV & radio transcripts; general business and industry publications, etc. Coverage varies by source.
The Food Aid Information System (FAIS) database of the World Food Programme (WFP) contains reliable and comprehensive data on food aid flows. It is a source of information for food aid actors, academics, the media, and anyone interested in global efforts to eradicate hunger and malnutrition.
  • Free access
A database for the Food and Agriculture Organization's publications, meetings, and articles.
FAO's collection of databases that provide documents from the Food and Agriculture Organization's governing bodies, conferences, councils, and various committees.
Catalogue of the David Lubin Memorial Library of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
Links to various statistical databases of the Food and Agriculture Organization, including Agro-MAPS, AQUASTAT, CountrySTAT, FAOSTAT, Fishery and Aquaculture Statistics, Forestry Country Profiles, GLIPHA, PAAT Information Systems, and TERRASTAT.
Food and Agriculture Organization Legal Office database consisting of summaries and some translations of laws and regulations on topics falling within FAO's mandate - agriculture, cultivated plants, environment, fisheries, food, forestry, land and soil, livestock, water and wild species and ecosystems.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
FLG provides essential information on the primary and secondary sources of foreign law for more than 170 jurisdictions (States, crown colonies, semi-independent states and regional organizations). Comprehensive in content and global in scope, it contains exhaustive links within the work and to many URLs on the world level.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Get the latest global news with an evolving network of world-leading insights and analysis.
The FTS is a global, real-time database that records all reported international humanitarian aid (including that for NGOs and the Red Cross / Red Crescent Movement, bilateral aid, in-kind aid, and private donations). The database is maintained by the UN Office for Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA).

G

  • Free access
Gallica is the online library of the National Library of France, and includes other partners information. New content is added on a weekly basis, so far it gives access to more than 2 millions documents.
The GDACS provides near real-time alerts about natural disasters and tools to facilitate response coordination, including media monitoring, map catalogues and the Virtual On-Site Operations Coordination Centre. The service is provided by UN OCHA (Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs) in cooperation with the European Union.
The Global Environment Outlook (GEO) is a consultative, participatory process that builds capacity for conducting integrated environmental assessments for reporting on the state, trends and outlooks of the environment. It features a series of products that informs environmental decision-making and aims to facilitate the interaction between science and policy. Published by UNEP (UN Environment Programme).
"The Global Database on Violence against Women provides easy access to comprehensive and up-to-date information on measures undertaken by United Nations Member States to address all forms of violence against women." UN Women serves as the secretariat for the database.
The Global Economic Outlook Database (GEO Data) is a product of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA). It indexes various economic data criteria, including imports, exports, and growth rates, for regions of the world.
  • Free access
Compiles provisions related to gender contained in constitutions in countries around the world, available in the original language, along with English translations. Searchable by keywords, provisions, regions or countries.
The International Maritime Organization's collection of data and databases regarding various aspects of shipping information, including security, port reception, simulators, greenhouse gas emissions, pollution prevention, marine casualties and incidents, contact points, and local regulations. Registration required.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Le Grand Robert de la langue franaise provides the entire 6 volumes of the latest print edition of this prestigious work. Enriched with numerous editorial additions and new features, it is the largest contemporary dictionary of the French language. Le Grand Robert online contains 100,000 entries, 350,000 definitions, spellings, etymologies, usage, literary citations, and conjugations of all verbs.
How to install Le Grand Robert in Firefox and Windows (explanations in French only).
GVADATA This link opens in a new window Description of this database.

H

  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
>Updated summaries of 300+ WTO/GATT panel, Appellate Body, or arbitrator reports
>Nine comprehensive indexes cross-referencing the reports by key word, article, country, subject, panelist, member, and more.
>Easy citation lists to track adoption status of reports.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Access to more than 20 legal databases, including Law Journal Library, Legal Classics, and more.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Full text
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Full text
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Full text
HeinOnline is a full text archive of U.S. and Canadian law journals. The emphasis is on historical material that has not previously been available online or accessible through online indexes. It is possible to browse the archive's contents or search by keyword. There is also a "citation navigator" to assist in finding articles directly from a citation. All material is available as a high quality image of the original document.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Full text
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
An image-based collection of all treaties for which the U.S. has ever been a party. HeinOnline is a full text archive of U.S. and Canadian law journals. The emphasis is on historical material that has not previously been available online or accessible through online indexes. It is possible to browse the archive's contents or search by keyword. There is also a "citation navigator" to assist in finding articles directly from a citation. All material is available as a high quality image of the original document.
This collection contains exact reproductions of major United Nations legal publications, including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, UNIDIR Publications, the United Nations Legislative Series and much more.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Constitutional and political development of every country in the world.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Full text
  • Free access
Present human rights information and documents by country
Access to OCHAs controlled vocabularies and taxonomies in the field of humanitarian assistance. The taxonomies are available as human-readable spreadsheets and machine readable APIs.

I

 
Catalogue of the library for the International Atomic Energy Agency. Contains link to other relevant IAEA databases.
 
International Civil Aviation Organization's database of aeronautical agreements and arrangements.
 
The International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes' (ICSID) searchable bibliography listing articles, books, research, and working papers on ICSID, investment law and treaties, and international investment dispute resolution.
 
Database of cases held before the World Bank's International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID).
 
ICT-Eye is an ITU resource for telecommunication/ICT indicators and statistics, regulatory and policy information, national tariff policies and costing practices, and more.
 
Basic documents pertaining to the ICTR (International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda).
 
Searchable databases of cases pertaining to the ICTR (International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda).
 
Provides access to all public records filed with the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia.
 
Developed by the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean, this database provides analysis of the main issues involved in trade disputes of interest to the region.
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: IEEExplore
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related disciplines. IEEE Xplore contains full-text documents from IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards, in addition to books and educational courses. IEEE Xplore also includes content from select other publishers.
Reports, papers, factsheets and more from the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD).
 
 
Reports, papers, factsheets and more from the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD).
  • Free access
Print material - Full text
 
Collection of statistics and databases compiled by the International Labour Organization: core labour statistics, country-level data, child labour statistics, occupational health and safety, conventions and recommendations documents, reference literature, and labour legislation.
 
This database gives access to international financial data and statistics collected by the IMF, the International Financial Statistics (IFS) and the AFR Regional Economic Outlook.
  • Free access
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
Statistics
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Full Text
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Full text
 
This site is developed for IMO Member Governments, Intergovernmental agencies, and organizations with consultative status with the IMO. Registration required.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Covers all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American) law, including comparative law and legal systems (journal articles, congress reports, essay collections, yearbooks, and book reviews). Coverage : 1985+
The Indicator Registry is a central repository of information on indicators used to track the AIDS epidemic and the national, regional and global response.
InforMEA (UN Information Portal on Multilateral Environmental Agreements) provides information on Conference of the Parties (COP) decisions and resolutions, news, events, Multilateral Environmental Agreements (MEA) membership, national focal points, national reports, and implementation plans from MEA secretariats.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Abstracts, Full text
The International Nuclear Information System (INIS) multilingual thesaurus serves as a tool for indexing and describing nuclear information and knowledge in a structured form and assists in multilingual and semantic searches of the INIS Collection.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Abstracts
  • Free access
International Investment Agreements (IIA) Navigator from UNCTAD is the most comprehensive database of international investment treaties and model agreements. You can search by country or do an advanced search in the full text.
Database with full-text search capabilities of all International Law Commission documents, including reports, texts and commentaries, summary records, etc.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
International Law Reports is a database devoted to the regular and systematic reporting in English of decisions of international courts and arbitrators as well as judgments of national courts. Covers all significant cases of public international law since 1919 and on a wide range of topics such as state and diplomatic immunity, treaties between states, war and terrorism. Registered users can save searches, subscribe to e-alerts and RSS feeds.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
The ultimate guide to international maritime boundaries provides update-to-date, regionally-organized content. Complete with hyperlinked maps and keyword search functionality.
One of the world's largest collections of published information on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology. Offers access to a unique collection of non-conventional full text documents. Operated by the International Atomic Energy Agency.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Ebscohost
This database offers information on different dimensions of security & counter-terrorism and is designed to inform the analysis process, as well as enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues. Content includes full text journals, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, blogs, FAQs, and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.
Glossary of terms used in publications published by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC).
Repository of WHOs published material and technical information produced since 1948. Its content is freely accessible and searchable in the six official languages (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian & Spanish).
Collection of scientific papers relevant to the International Seabed Authority and its work.
Catalogue for the library of the International Seabed Authority.
Market Analysis Tools consists of a set of web portals intended to enhance the transparency in global trade and market access and to help users in their market analyses. Tools: Trade Map; Market Access Map; Investment Map; Trade Competitiveness Map; and Standards Map.
Library catalogue for the International Trade Centre (ITC).
Catalogue of the library for the International Telecommunications Union.

J

Temporary
Collection including Q&A's with NIAID's Anthony Fauci [...], lots of CME articles, & past pubs on vaccine development, infection control, and public health preparedness
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
JSTOR gives access to a full-text searchable collection of leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All titles begin with volume one.UNOG Library subscribes to collections I, II and IV.
Temporary
Articles relevant to the COVID-19 crisis, highlighting more than 6,000 articles from more than 500 journa
Temporary
In addition to open access content, independent researchers can gain free access to read JSTOR articles online with the Register and Read Program; new public health journals on JSTOR are open access until 30 June 2020. UNOG remote access users will have expanded access to JSTOR content when logged in through our Electronic Resources page.
JRAD provides access to all MICT (Mechanism for International Criminal Tribunals) public judicial records, as well as to the public archive records of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR.).
  • Free access
This database provides easy access to jurisprudence emanating from the United Nations Treaty Bodies which receive and consider complaints from individuals (CCPR, CAT, CEDAW, CERD, CRPD, CED, CESCR and CRC).

K

Temporary
Collection of 45+ Coronavirus / COVID-19 articles, 40+ of which have been made open in response to the pandemic
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Abstracts, Full text

L

Online repository of ILO (International Labour Organization) publications, journals, meeting documents, and conventions. It also links to the ILO library catalogue.
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: languageofpeace.org
Languageofpeace.org is an innovative tool to search provisions of Peace Agreements. Designed to meet the needs of mediators, drafters, conflict parties and other stakeholders, it provides easy access to compare and collate language on key issues across 75,000+ provisions of around 1,000 peace agreements.
Provides access to compare and collate language on key issues across 75,000+ provisions of around 1,000 peace agreements. Users can browse, search, compile and export the provisions of peace agreements. Language of Peace complements and builds on the UN Peacemaker database, which hosts full text documents of such agreements.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Le nouveau Petit Robert is an everyday tool for proper usage of the French language. This online dictionary contains 60,000 entries, 300,000 definitions, etymologies, and phonetic transcriptions. It also contains quotes, examples and expressions, homonyms and conjugation of 6,500 verbs.
How to install Le Petit Robert in Firefox and Windows (explanations in French only).
  • Free access
Created by historians at Heidelberg University.
LONSEA database illustrates the history of international organisations and global governance. Its focus is the material collected by the League of Nations on the proceedings of international activities from 1919 to 1946.
Semantic standard for institutions and organizations collecting and managing data, information and knowledge in the field of environmental Law and Governance.
  • Password restricted.  Please ask Librarian about conditions for access.
Accessible from all UNOG Library workstations. Please ask your Librarian for the ID and Password. Full text database which provides access to over 10,000 news, business and legal publications. Includes more than 50 major English-language newspapers as well as non-English language news sources; broadcast transcripts from the major television networks and wire services. Law sources available include: case law and legislation from around the world and articles from over 600 law journals; U.S. Supreme Court decisions from 1790 to present and all U.S. Federal laws from 1988 to present.
To support your teaching or study of international criminal law, Lexsitus offers free access to 236 AV-recorded lectures with subtitles, a commentary covering all provisions in the Statute and the Rules of Procedure and Evidence of the International Criminal Court, libraries of case law and preparatory works, as well as digests of case law.
  • Free access
World Health Organization HQ Library Catalogue

M

The online Maritime Knowledge Centre of the IMO (International Maritime Organization) provides access to resources on maritime safety, security and prevention of pollution from ships as well as other maritime related issues.
Temporary
Collection of Liebert COVID-19 research content: 22+ articles from 9+ journals
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
This online version represents a new edition of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law that was published between 1991 and 2001. Nearly all topics are being rewritten and many new topics included in order to capture the latest developments in international law. The intention is that the Encyclopedia will be a work that reflects international law from a global perspective while taking into account regional perspectives. The authors of the articles are legal scholars and practitioners from all over the world.
Temporary
24+ entries on AccessMedicine COVID-19 Central to help teaching and learning online and to share the latest information on the COVID-19 global pandemic
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: MICT, UNMICT, ICTR, ICTY, CLD
The MICT (Mechanism for International Tribunals) Case Law Database (CLD) provides access to extracts of key judgements and decisions of the ICTR, ICTY, and MICT Appeals Chambers. The full text of the corresponding appeal judgements and decisions are also available.
The MICT (Mechanism for International Tribunals) Case Law Database (CLD) provides access to extracts of key judgements and decisions of the ICTR, ICTY, and MICT Appeals Chambers. The full text of the corresponding appeal judgements and decisions are also available.
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Online version building on Webster's Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged. Includes access to the citations database, word popularity rankings and others.
The Mine Action Project Portfolio is a resource tool and database of reference documents for donors, policy-makers, advocates, and national and international mine action implementers.
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Abstracts, Full text

N

Analytical national accounts tables from 1970 onwards for more than 200 countries and areas of the world.
Temporary
Working Papers of the current pandemic
Temporary
Collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary.
Temporary
New York Times' most up-to-date information and guidance on the coronavirus
  • Free access
NUCLEUS is the International Atomic Energy Agency's common access point to its wide variety of scientific, technical, and regulatory information resources.

O

  • Free access
OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) is the first international Open Access project in the area of scholarly book publishing and is supported by the European Union. The OAPEN Library offers free full-text access to a growing collection of peer-reviewed academic books in the Humanities and Social Sciences from universities and university presses across Europe.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
OECD iLibrary is the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development's online library for books, journals, working papers and statistics and serves as the gateway to OECD analysis and data. Also contains all publications and datasets released by International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Provides access to the full text of publications and statistical databases published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
 
OHCHR (Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights) maintained database including documents for the Human Rights Council, its predecessor and their subsidiaries and parent organs.
Temporary
Temporary free access to all e-books from Ohio State University Press.
  • Password restricted.  Please ask Librarian about conditions for access.
Full text
 
The online Burma/Myanmar library is a searchable online research library. It provides links to more than 60,000 full text documents on Myanmar. There are books, reports, periodicals, articles, archives and films. The material is organized into 100 categories including health, land, economy, environment, law and constitution, foreign relations and history. While about a quarter of the material is in Burmese some is in minority languages like Pwo and S'Gaw Karen. Recent collections cover the Rohingya crisis and a repository of Myanmar law.
 
Temporary
Explore our curated reading list, made up of articles from across 20 Oxford University Press journals, and broaden your knowledge of how international law plans to address some key global issues. All papers are grouped into categories and freely available online until 30th June 2020. Page also includes instructions to register for full free access to all of the journals included in this collection for 3 months.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Oxford Dictionaries Pro is a current English language resource. It contains dictionaries, thesauruses, and language reference and offers quick search access to definitions of words, phrases, and idioms. It offers guidance on style and usage, grammar, and spelling; plus specialist guides for legal and technical writing.
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Full text
 
Includes Oxford Handbooks on Comparative Constitutional Law, History of International Law, International Environmental Law, International Human Rights Law, International Law in Armed Conflict, International Trade Law and others.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Includes Oxford handbooks on Civil Society, Climate Change and Society, Comparative Politics, Gender and Politics, Governance, Indigenous People's Politics, International Relations, UN Peacekeeping Operations and others.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
  • Password restricted.  Please ask Librarian about conditions for access.
Abstracts, Full text
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
UN Library Geneva subscribes to a selection of journals on the Oxford University Press platform, including several focusing on refugee studies.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online offers fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries: Arabic-English; English-Arabic; Chinese-English; English-Chinese; French-English; English-French; German-English; English-German; Italian-English; English-Italian; Russian-English; English-Russian; Spanish-English; English-Spanish.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
A cross-searchable database of over 100 of Oxford's central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books. Online texts are updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Oxford Reports on International Law brings together decisions on public international law from international courts and tribunals, domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals. The full scope of international case law is available and accompanied by expert analysis. It consists of four modules: Oxford Reports on International Law in Domestic Courts, Oxford Reports on International Criminal Law, Oxford Reports on International Human Rights Decisions, Oxford Reports on International Courts of General Jurisdiction. Search options include full text, keyword, date of decisions, jurisdiction and ILDC citation.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: OSAIL
Access full-text online editions of market-leading reference works and treatises such as Oppenheim's International Law, and the Oxford Commentaries on International Law. Browse, search and move between references and case reports as well as further commentary and analysis.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Classic and new titles by Oxford University Press.
Temporary
Collection of 2,548 articles matching 'Coronavirus'

P

  • Free access
 
 
Access restricted to UN Staff - guidance and best practices materials maintained by the Department of Peacekeeping Operations.
 
Department of Peacekeeping Operations' resource for policy, best practices, lessons learned and training material.
  • Free access
Full text
 
Open Access ebooks in the Development Bookshelf, a specialist peer-reviewed and evidence-based online book and journal collection for International Development policy, practice and research professionals.
  • Free access
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: News, Newspapers, Actualités, Journaux, Suisse, Switzerland
News, Full text
 
PreventionWeb serves the information needs of the disaster risk reduction community, including the development of information exchange tools to facilitate collaboration. It is a project of the UN Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNISDR).
 
The PGI is hosted by the Inter-Agency Group on Economic and Financial Statistics and presents data for the Group of 20 (G-20) to facilitate the monitoring of economic and financial developments for these systemically important economies.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Detailed indexing and full-text access to newspapers from around the world.
ProQuest Central is a web-based interface providing indexing, abstracting, and selected full-text access to records in 15 major databases. Altogether, it covers 8272 magazines, journals, newspapers and Newsletters. Coverage : dates vary by source; generally periodicals indexed back to 1971 with full-text back to 1988; newspapers indexed back to 1989 with full-text back to 1995.
  • Free access
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature. Access to the full text of articles in PMC is free, except where a journal requires a subscription for access to recent articles.

Q

R

Temporary
RavenPack has made public its COVID-19 news monitoring dashboard.
  • Free access
 
  • Free access
  • Help
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: UNHCR HCR
Provided by the UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR) Refworld is an essential support tool for refugee status determination and other related research purposes. The database contains a vast collection of reports concerning situations in countries of origin, policy documents and positions, and documents relating to international and national legal frameworks.
  • Free access
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: UNOCHA OCHA
The leading source for humanitarian information on global crises and disasters, collecting and providing the latest reports, maps and infographics and videos from trusted sources. It is a specialized digital service of the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA).
 
The Repertoire provides comprehensive coverage of the Security Councils interpretation and application of the United Nations Charter and its own Provisional Rules of Procedure since 1946.
 
The Repertory contains analytical studies of the decisions of the principal organs of the UN under each of the Articles of the UN Charter. It consists of a comprehensive summary of the decisions of UN Organs, together with review of related material, organized by Charter Articles, and presented in such a way as to throw light on questions of application and interpretation of the Charter which have arisen in practice.
 
The Reports of International Arbitral Awards provide a systematic collection of International arbitral and judicial awards which are of considerable importance as a "subsidiary means for the determination of the rules of law"
  • Free access
Full text
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Preserving Rosenne’s focus on the caselaw of the Court, the Fifth Edition is supplemented with increased references to the leading academic literature, and, like the Fourth Edition, is divided into four substantive volumes.
Temporary
30+ Articles on research findings and data relevant to the covid-19 pandemic, plus 12+ issues on related themes
Temporary
Temporary free access to all of The Royal Society's journals

S

Temporary
150+ articles spanning science, technology, and medicine and in the social and behavioral sciences
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Abstracts, Full text
  • Free access
Abstracts, Full text
Temporary
Latest News, Research, and Commentary on the coronavirus from American Association for the Advancement of Science AAAS.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Abstracts, Full text
 
SeaLibrary is the online bibliographic catalogue of IMOs Maritime Knowledge Centres collections of books, conference proceedings, key IMO documents, articles, videos and DVDs.
 
SHERLOC (Sharing Electronic Resources and Laws On Crime) was developed by the UN Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) to facilitate the dissemination of information regarding the implementation of the UN Convention against Transnational Organized Crime and its three Protocols. The portal consists of a case law database, a database of legislation, a bibliographic database, and a directory of competent national authorities.
  • Free access
SSRN´s eLibrary provides 874,189 research papers from 408,765 researchers across 30 disciplines.
Temporary
Collection of 300+ working papers matching 'Coronavirus'
Temporary
Latest coronavirus research & news items
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Abstracts, Full text
 
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: UN Inter-Agency Task Force on Social and Solidarity Economy (TFSSE)
The UN Inter-Agency Task Force on Social and Solidarity Economy (TFSSE) aims to raise the visibility of Social and Solidarity Economy (SSE) within the UN system and beyond.
 
The list of countries or areas contains the names of countries or areas in alphabetical order, their three-digit numerical codes used for statistical processing purposes by the Statistics Division of the UN Secretariat, and their three-digit alphabetical codes assigned by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). The designations employed and the presentation of material at this site do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the Secretariat of the United Nations concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries.
 
Browsable and searchable statistical database for ECA (Economic Commission for Africa).
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
The Statesman's Yearbook features extensive updated profiles on every country in the world. Each profile includes a concise geographic, historic, economic, political, social and cultural overview of the country together with essential statistics.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Strategic forecasting and custom intelligence analysis and forecasting of existing or potential competitive and security threats in specific markets or regions.
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Sustainable Development Goals Online (SDGO) is an interdisciplinary collection of digital content, including Taylor & Francis’ books and journals across all disciplines, themed around the SDGs. SDGO includes more than 12,000 carefully selected articles and chapters in an online library covering the 17 SDGs, plus teaching and learning materials including presentations, videos, case studies, teaching guides, and lesson plans.

T

Temporary
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Taylor & Francis Open Access
Collection of 1400+ articles matching 'Coronavirus', 1150+ of which have been made open in response to the pandemic
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Full-text access is given for journals to which the UNOG Library subscribes, including Adelphi Papers, Journal of Development Studies, Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies, Survival and Third World Quarterly.
Database of telecommunications related database maintained by the International Telecommunications Union (ITU).
The UN Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNISDR) develops these basic definitions on Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) to promote a common understanding on the subject for use by the public, authorities and practitioners.
  • Free access
The Government of Canada’s terminology and linguistic data bank.
  • Free access
  • Free access
  • Free access
The Index to Proceedings is an annual bibliographic guide to the proceedings and documentation of the major UN organs. The Indexes are prepared by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library and are produced at the end of the session/year. These Indexes are divided into two parts: a comprehensive subject index to the documents issued by the body in question during a particular session/year, and an index to speeches delivered before the body in question during a particular session/year divided by countries/organizations, speakers, and subjects.
Temporary
 New 2019 novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19) content from across The Lancet journals as it is published
Temporary
Latest News, Research, and Commentary on the coronavirus
Torkel Opsahl Academic EPublisher (TOAEP), provides open access to books and articles in three book series (Publication Series, Law of the Future Series, and Nuremberg Academy Series), the Policy Brief Series, and the Occasional Paper Series. These are also searchable in the Legal Tools Database
TourisTerm is the World Tourism Organization's (UNWTO) terminological database, in the five official languages of the Organization (Arabic, English, French, Russian and Spanish). There are also links to online references and other useful information.
TDM is a peer-review online journal publishing about various aspects of international arbitration with a special focus on investment arbitration. Since the first issue was published in 2004 it has gained popularity among a large number of law firms, academics and other professionals in the field of arbitration. Our TDM subscription includes A) access to the journal; B) OGEMID membership; C) the Legal & Regulatory database; and D) the Audiovisual library.
  • Free access
Full text
Case law database of the International Labour Organization Administrative Tribunal, which hears complaints from serving and former officials of the ILO and of the other international organizations that have recognized its jurisdiction.

U

 
Searchable database of the decisions of the United Nations Administrative Tribunal. Coverage: 1950-2009.
 
Judgments and orders of the United Nations Appeals Tribunal of the Office of the Administration of Justice. Searchable database as well as list of judgments and orders organized chronologically.
 
The UN Atlas of the Oceans is a portal providing a wide variety of relevant information on sustainable development information of oceans.
 
The UN Audiovisual Library provides audio recordings of meetings and events held at the UN Headquarters. There are also historic recordings of UN Radio programmes, a Secretaries-General's collection, and interviews. The recordings are available for download via the library's website (link), or via FTP upon demand.
  • Free access
Free access to detailed global trade data. UN Comtrade is a repository of official international trade statistics and relevant analytical tables. All data is accessible through API.
 
Free access to all of the trade data available in the UN Comtrade database. The database contains more than 3.1 billion trade records starting from 1962.
  • Free access
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Bibliothèque numérique des Nations Unies
The Digital Library provides access to UN-produced content including UN documents and publications. Its content has been indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library, the Library of the UN Office at Geneva and the ESCWA Library. Links to full text appear when available. Voting information for resolutions adopted by the General Assembly and Security Council, and citation to speeches made in the principal organs.
Coverage: 1979 onward (older documents are being added to the UN Digital LIbrary on a regular basis as a result of retrospective conversion). Includes resolutions adopted by the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council from 1946 onward.
  • Free access
Full text
 
Extensive review of United Nations disarmament activities during a given year.
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
The United Nations iLibrary is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations. -- Link for remote-access (UN Staff only).
 
Since 1962, the Secretary-General has published, on an annual basis, a Juridical Yearbook which includes documentary materials of a legal character concerning the United Nations and related intergovernmental organizations. Coverage: 1963-2011.
 
Full-text searchable database for publications of the Office of Legal Affairs Codification Division, including International Law Commission documents and yearbooks, proceedings of diplomatic conferences, summaries of International Court of Justice judgments, reports of international arbitration awards, the Repertory of Practice of UN organs, and the Juridical Yearbook.
 
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Find-a-Quote, Multilateralism
Launched on the occasion of the first International Day of Multilateralism and Diplomacy for Peace and developed as part of the celebrations of the centenary of the League of Nations and of the UN's 75th anniversary, the UN Library & Archives at Geneva presents this curated collection of quotations related to modern multilateralism.
 
Searches UNOG Library Catalog and e-Resources simultaneously
 
Available online from October 1995. Press Releases are not official documents but provide timely information on the current activities of the principal organs and subsidiary bodies, including summaries of meetings.
  • Free access
UN Member States on the Record provides access to information about membership and statements of Member States at the UN.
 
Provides information about membership and participation for each UN Member State, including statements made in UN bodies and draft resolutions sponsored.
  • Free access
Includes information on measures taken at the international, regional and national levels, including: international and regional instruments, case law, legal measures adopted by States, as well as information on policy and institutional measures to combat racism, racial discrimination, xenophobia and related intolerance.
  • Free access
Search for documents and information pertaining to UN Charter-based human rights bodies, including the Human Rights Council and its predecessor, the Commission on Human Rights.
 
Includes documents submitted to any of the UN human rights treaty monitoring bodies. Filter by convention, country, type of document, document symbol, and/or date.
 
Provides access to country-related documents submitted to any of the UN human rights bodies, including the special procedures.
 
Includes documents submitted to the UPR as well as related material; Search by session or by country.
 
Catalogue of the library for the OHCHR (Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights).
 
This resource provided by the Department of Political Affairs (DPA) is intended for peacemaking professionals, this resource includes an extensive database of peace agreements, guidance material, and information on the UNs mediation support services.
 
The United Nations Photo Library holds a collection of approximately 800,000 photographs dating back to the mid-1940s, chronicling the history of the Organization and its work. The collection includes coverage of historic UN meetings and events, as well as a wide array of field coverage from its earliest days.
 
The UN Office for Disarmament Affairs (UNODA) Register of Conventional Arms includes data provided by states on arms transfers as well as information on military holdings, procurement through national production and relevant policies.
  • Free access
A collection of case opinions and reports that have been produced by the United Nations Working Group on Arbitrary Detention.
 
Gives access to the United Nations Human Settlements Programme's (UN-HABITAT) publications, evaluations, urban laws, lectures and data.
 
Free and open access to data about countries and cities around the globe. Data available analyzed, compiled and published by UN-Habitats Global Urban Observatory
  • Free access
Index (UN documents)
 
The UN-Spider Knowledge Portal is a resource developed by UNOOSA (UN Office for Outer Space Affairs). It is the United Nations Platform for Space-Based Information for Disaster Management and Emergency Response.
 
The UNCCD (UN Convention to Combat Desertification) library holds a specialized collection in the fields of desertification, land degradation and drought, and its cross-cutting subjects such as development, economics, environment, land, soils, agriculture, energy, water, climate change, biodiversity, science and technology
 
Access to all the official UNCCD (UN Convention to Combat Desertification) documents of all the sessions of the Conference of the Parties (COP) and one of its subsidiary bodies, the Committee for the Review of the Implementation of the Convention (CRIC).
 
Full text access to publications from the UNCCD (UN Convention to Combat Desertification) .
 
A Media Room gives access to news, speeches, and audiovisual content. Also access to publications, practitioners guides and training tools, evaluations and assessments, and project and corporate documents from the UN Credit Development FUND (UNCDF).
 
The United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) database CLOUT (Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts) offers a fast method of searching the abstracts collected in the CLOUT system.
 
The United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) Library jointly maintains an online catalogue with the other United Nations libraries in Vienna.
 
A comprehensive compilation of international legal instruments, standards, recommended practices and other guidance material, intended to serve as a single point of reference on the various legal and practical matters relating to counter-terrorism aspects of border management. The database is maintained by UNCTED (UN Counter-Terrorism Executive Directorate).
 
UNCTAD Publications offers access to the flagship reports, series, policy briefs, and meeting documentation of the UN Conference on Trade and Development.
 
Collection of statistical databases offered by UNCTAD (United Nations Conference on Trade and Development), including commodity price statistics, foreign direct investment, information and communication technology statistics, and trade control measures.
 
A data dissemination system providing free access to comprehensive statistical time series and indicators essential for the analysis of world trade, investment, international financial flows, and development.
  • Free access
Statistics
 
UNdata is a statistical portal which allows simultaneous searching of 24 statistical databases from United Nations Statistics and Population Divisions, UN specialized agencies, and Member Countries.
  • Free access
Find official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism.
 
Database with detailed information on the United Nations Development Programme's (UNDP) 6,000+ development projects in 177 countries and territories worldwide.
 
Judgments and orders of the United Nations Dispute Tribunal of the Office of the Administration of Justice. Searchable database as well as list of judgments organized chronologically and list of orders organized by duty station.
 
Library catalogue of the UNEP headquarters (UN Environmental Programme) in Nairobi.
 
The UNEP Knowledge Repository is the official platform for its research content and knowledge products, offering open access to UNEPs (UN Environment Programme) publications, technical and assessment reports, guidelines, newsletters, journal articles and other types of information material.
 
The Institute for Statistics Data Centre of UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication. Custom tables may be generated, and predefined tables are also available.
 
The UNESCO Thesaurus is a controlled and structured list of terms used in subject analysis and retrieval of documents and publications in the fields of education, culture, natural sciences, social and human sciences, communication and information.
 
Clickable map and searchable list of all UNESCO World Heritage Sites worldwide.
 
UNESCOTERM is a terminology database covering the subject areas education, science and culture.
 
Contains over 130 000 downloadable documents in six official languages covering all UNESCO fields of competence since 1945. The database also includes publications edited by the Organization.

V

 
VoxEU.org – CEPR’s policy portal – was set up in June 2007 to promote "research-based policy analysis and commentary by leading economists". Vox's audience consists of economists working in the public sector, private sector, academia and media – as well as students of economics in the broad sense. Vox columns cover all fields of economics broadly defined and is widely read

W

 
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: What Convention
Mandate International's international law search engine. Through this search, you can access any of the following results:
the full text of conventions;
relevant articles binding any selected country on any selected topic;
a list of relevant conventions by State party, domain or topic;
a list of conventions signed and/or ratified by any selected country;
the status of signatures and ratifications as well as reservations for any selected convention
 
The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is the World Health Organization's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database.
 
In a single electronic platform, the World Health Organization's (WHO) Communicable Disease Global Atlas is bringing together for analysis and comparison standardized data and statistics for infectious diseases at country, regional, and global levels.
 
The WHO Global InfoBase is a data warehouse that collects, stores and displays information on chronic diseases and their risk factors for all WHO (World Health Organization) member states. Includes mortality, non-communicable disease (NCD) risk factor, and international comparisons data.
 
Statistical information provided by World Health Organization's regional offices in Africa, the Americas, Eastern Mediterranean, Europe, Southeast Asia, and Western Pacific.
Temporary
More than 5,300 Coronavirus-related articles and book chapters on Wiley Online. Also includes a link to Atypon-powered Scitrus, a free, real-time feed of the latest research and news on COVID-19
  • Remote access is available for staff of UNOG, UNCTAD, UNECE, and UNHCR
  • Accessible from UNOG IP addresses
Abstracts, Full text
 
WIPO GOLD is a free public resource which provided by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) offering a one-stop gateway to WIPOs global collections of searchable IP data. Includes links to resources for patents, brands, domain name, designs, statistics, law and treaties, classifications, and standards.
 
WIPO Lex is a search facility for national laws and treaties on intellectual property (IP) of WIPO, WTO and UN Members. It also features related information which elaborates, analyzes and interprets these laws and treaties. It provides streamlined access to reference material of key importance for optimal information on the global IP System.
 
Catalogue of the library of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). The library's collection covers all aspects of intellectual property with its holdings of some 35,000 monographs and over 300 periodicals.
 
Database for searching meetings and documents of the World Intellectual Property Organization.
 
The catalogue of the library of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) contains books, conference reports and other expert reports, working papers, annual and statistical reports and periodicals on meteorology.
Temporary
Curated information and resources that they have opened access to for the medical community, 3 links for Wolters Kluwer, Ovid, and UptoDate
 
Women, Business and the Law presents indicators based on laws and regulations affecting women’s prospects as entrepreneurs and employees.
  • Free access
Includes data from the World Bank's microdata, finances and energy data platforms, as well as datasets from the open data catalog.
 
DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool developed by the World Bank. It contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Links to other World Bank databases.
 
Subscription to World Bank eLibrary ended 01/03/2017. Many World Bank publications can be found in the Open Knowledge Repository.
 
The World Bank eLibrary is a subscription-based website designed to help researchers and libraries browse, find, and use World Bank publications and top data from World Development Indicators as quickly and easily as possible.
 
The Global Economic Monitor (GEM) is a World Bank online subscription service, updated daily, providing analysis of current economic trends, economic and financial data indicators, and an extensive database.
  • Free access
Providing daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries.
  • Free access
Statistics
 
The World Banks official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
  • Free access
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Open Knowledge Repository
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank's official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. OKR contains research from thousands of works including World Bank published books, World Development Reports, Policy Research Working Papers, Economic and Sector Work studies, journal articles, and World Bank Group annual reports and independent evaluation studies.
  • Free access
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
  • Free access
Full text
 
The WTO Documents Online database provides access to the official documentation of the World Trade Organization, including legal texts of the WTO agreements.
 
The WTO iLibrary brings together, for the first time, into one self-contained area all the WTO's key research material on global trade. We invite you to explore WTO iLibrary and discover the content from the World Trade Organization.
  • Free access
Print
 
Catalogue of the World Trade Organization Library.
 
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: UNSEIAC
The WTO statistics database allows for retrieval of statistical information through four presentations: Trade Profiles, Tariff Profiles, Services Profiles and the Time Series section.
 
Terminology database of the World Trade Organization (WTO) for translators where one can find the terminology of the organization in its three official languages (English, French, Spanish).

X

Y

  • Free access
The Yearbook is the principal reference work of the United Nations and provides a detailed overview of the Organization's activities. Each Yearbook is fully indexed and includes all major General Assembly, Security Council and Economic and Social Council resolutions. The complete collection (1946-2005) is available here. Search options include full text through the complete collection or a specific period.
 
The Yearbook of the United Nations is the principal reference work of the UN and provides a detailed overview of the Organization's activities during the course of a year. All the Yearbooks, 1945 to the most recent, are available online and provide citation to the documentation and include the full text of resolutions.

Z