Research Guides: Universal Declaration of Human Rights: Books and Articles

Bibliographies prepared by UN Library at Geneva

In the following bibliographies, UNOG Library presents interesting books and articles accessible in its print collections.

Contacts us to learn how to get access to this material: library-gva@un.org

Print material available @ UN Library at Geneva

Books and Articles by subject:

Human Rights e-Books Databases

Brill E-Books: Human Rights and Humanitarian Law Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text electronic version selected Martinus Nijhoff Publishers books in the broad field of human rights and humanitarian law. UNOG Library has purchased access to a selection of titles.

UN Staff please access this content remotely by using this link.
Collected Courses of the Hague Academy This link opens in a new window
Since 1923 The Hague Academy of International Law organizes prestigious post-university summer courses in private international law and public international law. The courses are published in the book series "The Hague Academy Collected Courses", now comprising over 360 volumes. This comprehensive online version includes full-text search.
Note: Use this link when outside the Palais: LINK
HeinOnline European Center for Minority Issues This link opens in a new window
Contains several publications of the ECMI, including ECMI Reports and Working Papers. The ECMI conducts practice-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe.
Note: Use this link when outside the Palais: LINK
HeinOnline Legal Classics This link opens in a new window
In addition to more than 1,000 "classics" from some of the greatest legal minds in history, this collection also includes rare items that are found in only a handful of libraries around the world. HeinOnline is a full text archive of U.S. and Canadian law journals. The emphasis is on historical material that has not previously been available online or accessible through online indexes.Note: Use this link when outside the Palais: LINK

U.S. Supreme Court Library (HeinOnline)
Full text
more...less...
Complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports bound volumes as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books and periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court are included in HeinOnline's U.S. Supreme Court Library. HeinOnline is a full text archive of U.S. and Canadian law journals. The emphasis is on historical material that has not previously been available online or accessible through online indexes. It is possible to browse the archive's contents or search by keyword. There is also a "citation navigator" to assist in finding articles directly from a citation. All material is available as a high quality image of the original document.

HeinOnline United Nations Law Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection contains exact reproductions of major United Nations legal publications, including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, UNIDIR Publications, the United Nations Legislative Series and much more.
Note: Use this link when outside the Palais: LINK
Finding Aids and additional features make it easy to pull up a UN Treaty by entering a UNTS Citation, search for a UN Treaty, and link to law review articles that cite a UN Treaty.
HeinOnline World Trials This link opens in a new window
This collection includes more than 3,200 trials including complete sets of American State Trials, Howell's State Trials, and the Nuremburg Trials. It contains trial transcripts, critical court documents, and trial-related resources such as monographs which analyze and debate the decisions of famous trials, as well as biographies of many of the greatest trial lawyers in history.
Note: Use this link when outside the Palais: LINK
United Nations Juridical Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Full text
Published by the UN Office of Legal Affairs since 1963, the Yearbook reviews legal developments of the UN and related intergovernmental organizations and includes information on national legislation and treaties concerning the legal status of the UN and related organizations, a general review of their legal activities, texts of multilateral treaties, summaries of select decisions of their administrative tribunals and of legal opinions of the UN Office of Legal Affairs, information on decisions of international courts and tribunals, etc.
World Directory of Minorities and Indigenous Peoples (Minority Rights Group International) This link opens in a new window
Full text
This online directory of minorities and indigenous peoples grew out of Minority Rights Group’s encyclopaedic World Directory of Minorities, first published in 1990 and updated and expanded in 1997. This World Directory has been restructured into database format, updated and expanded, and the entire text is now available free of charge for the use of all those throughout the world with an interest in any aspect of minorities and indigenous peoples, their rights, their historical, political or geographical context.
Yearbook of the United Nations This link opens in a new window
The Yearbook is the principal reference work of the United Nations and provides a detailed overview of the Organization's activities. Each Yearbook is fully indexed and includes all major General Assembly, Security Council and Economic and Social Council resolutions. The complete collection (1946-2014) is available here. Search options include full text through the complete collection or a specific period.

Featured Books @ UN Library at Geneva

La diplomatie de l'universel : la guerre froide, les Etats-Unis et la genèse de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme, 1945-1948 by Olivier Barsalou
Call Number: 341.1 B282
ISBN: 2802730541
Publication Date: 2012
Historic Achievement of a Common Standard by Pinghua Sun
Call Number: 341.1 S957
ISBN: 9789811083686
Publication Date: 2018
Letters to the Contrary by Mark Goodale; Samuel Moyn (Foreword by)
Call Number: 341.1 L651
ISBN: 9781503605343
Publication Date: 2018
New challenges for the UN human rights machinery : what future for the UN treaty body system and the Human Rights Council procedures? by M. Cherif Bassiouni (Editor); William Schabas (Editor)
Call Number: 341.27735 N532 LPNL
ISBN: 1780680554
Publication Date: 2011
P. C. Chang and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights by Hans Ingvar Roth
Call Number: 341.1:92 C456R
ISBN: 9780812250565
Publication Date: 2018
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights: the travaux préparatoires / edited by William A. Schabas.
Call Number: 341.1 U58579 LPNL
ISBN: 9781107015500
Publication Date: 2013
3 volumes

Selected Databases available @ UN Library at Geneva

Researchers will also find interesting articles in subscription databases available at UN Library at Geneva. Here is a selection of full-text databases:

HeinOnline
In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Currently Available Collections and Journals. Coverage : begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 0-10 years of the present.
Collected Courses of the Hague Academy This link opens in a new window
Since 1923 The Hague Academy of International Law organizes prestigious post-university summer courses in private international law and public international law. The courses are published in the book series "The Hague Academy Collected Courses", now comprising over 360 volumes. This comprehensive online version includes full-text search.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a web-based interface providing indexing, abstracting, and selected full-text access to records in 15 major databases. Altogether, it covers 8272 magazines, journals, newspapers and Newsletters. Coverage : dates vary by source; generally periodicals indexed back to 1971 with full-text back to 1988; newspapers indexed back to 1989 with full-text back to 1995.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law This link opens in a new window
This online version represents a new edition of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law that was published between 1991 and 2001. Nearly all topics are being rewritten and many new topics included in order to capture the latest developments in international law. The intention is that the Encyclopedia will be a work that reflects international law from a global perspective while taking into account regional perspectives. The authors of the articles are legal scholars and practitioners from all over the world.
Gallica This link opens in a new window
Gallica is the online library of the National Library of France, and includes other partners information. New content is added on a weekly basis, so far it gives access to more than 2 millions documents.
Brill E-Books: Human Rights and Humanitarian Law Collection This link opens in a new window
Human Rights and Humanitarian Law E-Books is the electronic version of the book publication program of Martinus Nijhoff Publishers in the broad field of human rights and humanitarian law. Coverage: Human Rights ? Refugee Law ? Immigration Law ? Health Law ? Children?s Rights ? Minority and Group Rights ? Humanitarian Law ? International Criminal Law.UNOG Library has purchased access to titles published in 2009.
CAIRN General Collection This link opens in a new window
French language database covering the humanities and social sciences. Allows searching and provides access to abstracts of 150 journals. Full-text access to 58 journals including Economie internationale, Mondes en dveloppement and Revue internationale de droit conomique.

Journal Articles

Overview of journal articles available in the UN Library at Geneva print and electronic collections on the UDHR :

Journal Articles on the Universal Declaration of Human Rights
(citations and abstracts - full text, when available, can be accessed at the UN Library at Geneva)

Latest results appear below (through an RSS feed) :

Articles written by Librarians and Archivists of UN Library at Geneva

Article presenting a selection of books on the drafting history of the UDHR:

"The Library Corner" by Cristina Giordano (UNOG Library), in: UN Special, no. 670 (février 2008), pp. 15-16.

Article about the drafters of the UDHR:

"Les protagonistes de la déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme" by Béatrice Ory (UNOG Library/Archives), in: UN Special, no. 670 (février 2008), p. 14.

Article about the exhibition organized by the UNOG Library and Archives in 2008:

"La Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme: archives, 1947-1966" by Cristina Giordano and Blandine Blukacz-Louisfert (UNOG Library/Archives), in: UN Special, no. 679 (décembre 2008).

Toward a right to peace / Bibliography

Toward a right to peace - A selection of material available at UNOG Library