Research Guides: Electronic Resources: English & French

English dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The new Oxford English Dictionary Online, provides access to the material contained in the 20-volume Second Edition of the Oxford English Dictionary and the 3 volumes of Additions, as well as quarterly releases of at least 1000 new and revised entries.
Oxford Dictionaries Pro This link opens in a new window
Oxford Dictionaries Pro is a current English language resource. It contains dictionaries, thesauruses, and language reference and offers quick search access to definitions of words, phrases, and idioms. It offers guidance on style and usage, grammar, and spelling; plus specialist guides for legal and technical writing.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online offers fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries: Arabic-English; English-Arabic; Chinese-English; English-Chinese; French-English; English-French; German-English; English-German; Italian-English; English-Italian; Russian-English; English-Russian; Spanish-English; English-Spanish.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window A cross-searchable database of over 100 of Oxford's central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books. Online texts are updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary This link opens in a new window The Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary is hosted on the Encyclopaedia Britannica homepage (scroll down the page to get to the separate search box).

English dictionaries in print version Dictionaries available in the UN Library Geneva print collection. Includes thematic dictionaries.

English | Bilingual dictionaries

Dictionnaires bilingues français <-> anglais (Larousse) Free online version of the bilingual FrenchEnglish dictionaries by Larousse.

TermiumPlus This link opens in a new window The Government of Canada’s terminology and linguistic data bank. English, French, Spanish
Lexilogos Dictionaries This link opens in a new window Free website in which you will find online dictionaries for numerous languages. (English interface) Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, Spanish and more

French dictionaries

Grand Robert de la langue française (Le) This link opens in a new window Le Grand Robert de la langue française provides the entire 6 volumes of the latest print edition of this prestigious work. Enriched with numerous editorial additions and new features, it is the largest contemporary dictionary of the French language. Le Grand Robert online contains 100,000 entries, 350,000 definitions, spellings, etymologies, usage, literary citations, and conjugations of all verbs. How to install Le Grand Robert in Firefox and Windows (explanations in French only). French | Library Subcription: Onsite & Remote Access
Petit Robert (Le) This link opens in a new window Le nouveau Petit Robert is an everyday tool for proper usage of the French language. This online dictionary contains 60,000 entries, 300,000 definitions, etymologies, and phonetic transcriptions. It also contains quotes, examples and expressions, homonyms and conjugation of 6,500 verbs. How to install Le Petit Robert in Firefox and Windows (explanations in French only).
Dictionnaire des francophones This link opens in a new window Le Dictionnaire des francophones est un dictionnaire collaboratif numérique ouvert qui a pour objectif de rendre compte de la richesse du français parlé au sein de l'espace francophone...toutes les variétés du français sont présentées ensemble et placées sur un pied d'égalité. French
Oxford Dictionaries | French This link opens in a new window

Dictionnaire français (Larousse) French language definitions, synonyms, antonyms, expressions, homonyms, citations, conjugation.

Dictionnaire français (TV5 Monde) This link opens in a new window Dictionnaire français gratuit de TV5 Monde, la chaîne de télévision francophone. French

Le Trésor de la langue française informatisé (TLFi) Derived from analysis of the 16-volume print edition of Le Trésor de la langue française, the fully-searchable computerized version contains 100,000 words with their history; 270,000 definitions; 430,000 examples. French | Open Access
French dictionaries in print version Dictionaries available in the UN Library Geneva print collection. Includes thematic dictionaries.

French | Bilingual dictionaries

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online offers fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries: Arabic-English; English-Arabic; Chinese-English; English-Chinese; French-English; English-French; German-English; English-German; Italian-English; English-Italian; Russian-English; English-Russian; Spanish-English; English-Spanish.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window A cross-searchable database of over 100 of Oxford's central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books. Online texts are updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.

Dictionnaires bilingues français <-> anglais (Larousse) French, English | Open Access
Dictionnaires bilingues français<->allemand (Larousse) Free online version of the bilingual FrenchGerman dictionaries by Larousse. French, German | Open Access
Dictionnaire bilingue français -> chinois (Larousse) Free online version of the bilingual French -> Chinese dictionary by Larousse. French, Chinese | Open Access
Dictionnaires bilingues français<->espagnol (Larousse) Free online version of the bilingual FrenchSpanish dictionaries by Larousse. French, Spanish | Open Access
Dictionnaires bilingues français<->italien (Larousse) Free online version of the bilingual FrenchItalian dictionaries by Larousse. French, Italian | Open Access

TermiumPlus This link opens in a new window The Government of Canada’s terminology and linguistic data bank. English, French, Spanish
Dictionnaires Lexilogos This link opens in a new window Free website in which you will find online dictionaries for numerous languages. (French interface)