Research Guides: Human Rights 75: Home

Videos

United for change at the HR75 high-level event

Human Rights Day 2023

Human Rights 75 Related Links

Twitter

About Human Rights 75

Human Rights 75 is an initiative whose three main goals focus on universality, progress and engagement under the leadership of UN Human Rights, together with its partners. The initiative culminates in a high-level event in December 2023 that will announce global pledges and ideas for a vision for the future of human rights.

“Together, let’s rejuvenate the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, demonstrate how it can meet the needs of our time AND advance its promise of freedom, equality and justice for all”.

In 2023, we commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, which coincides with the 30th anniversary of the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights.

For 75 years, the core ambition of the Declaration has been to infuse societies with equality, fundamental freedoms and justice. It enshrines the rights of all human beings and is a global blueprint for international, national, and local laws and policies and a bedrock of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

We will celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Declaration on 10 December 2023, a milestone celebration called Human Rights 75. Throughout the year, the initiative seeks to increase knowledge on the universality and indivisibility of human rights, especially among young people, inspire people to create a movement of shared humanity while empowering them to fight for their rights.

About this LibGuide

The Human Rights 75 Initiative LibGuide serves as your comprehensive resource to navigate the rich history of human rights development through the official documents of the United Nations. This guide covers a spectrum of themes aligned with the monthly thematic spotlights of the Human Rights 75 Initiative, each contributing to the initiative's overarching goals of universality, progress, and engagement.

The guide includes twelve main sections, corresponding to the Human Rights 75 Initiative's monthly thematic spotlights:

1. Arbitrary detention for exercising human rights
2. Business and human rights
3. Care and support system
4. Climate change/environment
5. Human rights education
6. Human rights enhancing economy
7. Justice
8. Offline and online civic space and human rights defenders
9. Prevention and peace
10. Racial justice
11. Social protection, sustainable development, and the right to development
12. Women’s participation in public and political life

Each section is meticulously curated to provide researchers and enthusiasts with a wealth of information, including featured books, journal articles, reports and resolutions of the Commission on Human Rights and Human Rights Council, treaties, conventions, declarations, and insights from human rights conferences.

This LibGuide serves as a valuable companion to the content available on the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) website, enhancing the understanding of the evolution of human rights over the past 75 years. The LibGuide is curated by OHCHR Library. For a comprehensive array of resources on human rights, please visit our online catalog at OHCHR Library Catalogue. We encourage you to explore and engage with this guide, and we welcome your comments and suggestions for continuous improvement. Please send any recommendations to OHCHR-library@un.org.

Embark on a journey through the history of human rights, delve into the intricacies of each theme, and join us in commemorating the 75th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights through the Human Rights 75 Initiative LibGuide.

Find the UDHR in Your Language!

If you need a copy of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, there are several layouts available:

Full text of the Declaration online Available in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish PLUS others of the 550 translation
Illustrated Universal Declaration of Human Rights | OHCHR
Commit for Human Rights (standup4humanrights.org)Available in English, French and Spanish

The Universal Declaration of Human Rights is timeless. Its 75th Anniversary is an invitation to take action for a world that is more just and where all people are equal and live in freedom and in dignity. Wherever you are, you can make a difference. Add your photo to one of our filters, inspired by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and share it on your social media channels using the hashtag #HumanRights75. Help us spread the word and encourage your friends and colleagues to add their photos too.

EN - https://share.ohchr.org/
AR - https://share.ohchr.org/v-ar
CH - https://share.ohchr.org/v-ch
SP - https://share.ohchr.org/v-es
FR - https://share.ohchr.org/v-fr
RU - https://share.ohchr.org/v-ru
Exhibit of UDHR materials from around the world | OHCHR

The History of the UDHR

Drafting History

Drafting of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights
This guide provides access to the most relevant UN documents related to the drafting of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (adopted by the General Assembly on 10 December 1948). Documents included were digitized by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library (UN, New York) and the United Nations Library at Geneva.
Drafting of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights - Research Guide
For a detailed historical background of the drafting of the Declaration, consult the volumes of the Yearbook of the United Nations for 1947-1948 and 1948-1949 (see extracts in the pdf files above). Additional volumes of the Yearbook can be consulted online.
Yearbook of the United Nations 1948-1949 (extract)
Extract of the "Yearbook of the United Nations, 1948-1949" (United Nations, 1950 - UN sales number: 1950.I.2)
Yearbook of the United Nations 1947-1948 (extract)
Extract of the "Yearbook of the United Nations, 1947-1948" (United Nations, 1949 - UN sales number: 49.I.13)

Drafting Materials from UN Archives

The UN Archives at Geneva maintains records related to the drafting of the Declaration and the covenants which are accessible to the public and available in digitized form through the UN Archives Geneva platform. They provide online access to 35 files containing several thousand pages of original and unique materials related to the drafting of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. This material includes drafts of the Declaration, comments from governments, organizations and the general public, and material related to the implementation of the Declaration. Original documents from René Cassin and Eleonor Roosevelt are included in these invaluable records.
Archivists provide online consultation and reference services similar to those provided on-site, including access to the scanned materials and scanning services where possible. Subject to researchers’ needs, we can provide consultation via e-mail or live online conferencing. For these requests, please Ask an archivistOpens in new window.
Original materials related to the draftng of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UNOG Archives)
more...
The UN Archives in New York (ARMS) also hold important records related to the drafting of the Declaration. Researchers can search their catalogue and find their contact details in their official website: https://archives.un.org.
Visit also UN ARMS online exhibition on The Universal Declaration on Human Rights is 70: https://archives.un.org/content/universal-declaration-human-rights.

Early Drafts

List of Early Drafts of UDHR

The Drafters

UDHR drafting committee: Photos and information about the members of the UDHR Drafting Committee

The Drafting Committee members:

Alexandre Bogomolov (USSR)
René Cassin (France)
Dr. Peng-chun Chang (China)
Charles Dukes (United Kingdom)
William Hodgson (Australia)
John P. Humphrey (Canada)
Dr. Charles Malik (Lebanon)
Eleanor Roosevelt (US)
Hernan Santa Cruz (Chile)
Biographies of certain members can be found on the Columbia University web site.

Early Version of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

(UN Photo/Greg Kinch)

On 10 December 1948 the General Assembly of the United Nations adopted the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

General Assembly Resolution 217(III) A
Voting details
Verbatim record of the 183rd meeting (A/PV.183) during which the text was adopted

Secondary sources on the adopted text

The UN Library at Geneva offers access to a large collection of books and articles related to the Declaration, you will find more information in this Guide under "Books and Articles".
List of additional documents about the UDHR (links to electronic versions are included, if they exist).
Fact Sheets and other Reference Material on Human Rights
UN Human Rights bodies web sites (OHCHR)
Human Rights by country (OHCHR)

Human Rights Day is observed every year on 10 December – the day the United Nations General Assembly adopted, in 1948, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. This year, Human Rights Day marks the 70th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, a milestone document that proclaimed the inalienable rights which everyone is inherently entitled to as a human being -- regardless of race, colour, religion, sex, language, political or other opinion, national or social origin, property, birth or other status.

Featured Books

Introduction to International Human Rights Law by Pietro Pustorino
ISBN: 9789462655621
Publication Date: 2023-01-02
This book offers a compact but general introduction to international human rights law. It discusses the theoretical, historical and legal foundations of international human rights law, providing an encompassing analysis of the substantive content of the most important human rights and of the role of States and non-State actors in ensuring their respect. It also carries out a specific analysis of the UN system and the ECHR and other regional systems - all this while constantly situating the discussion on international human rights law within the broader framework of public international law. While particularly suitable for undergraduate students in law, this book is also aimed at students of political science and other social sciences, as well as academics and practitioners. Pietro Pustorino is Full Professor of International Law at the Department of Law of Luiss University (Rome, Italy) and Director of the Luiss Center for International and Strategic Studies.
The Customary International Law of Human Rights by William A. Schabas
ISBN: 9780192845696
Publication Date: 2021-08-24
Customary international law is one of the principal sources of public international law. Although its existence is uncontroversial, until now the content of customary international law in the area of human rights has not been analyzed in a comprehensive manner. This book, from one of international law's foremost scholars and practitioners, provides an unparalleled account of the customary international law of human rights. It discusses the emergence of this customary law, the debates about how it is to be identified, and the efforts at formulation of customary norms. In doing so, the book provides a useful and accessible introduction to the content of international human rights.The author uses the Universal Declaration of Human Rights as a basis to examine human rights norms, and determine whether they may be described as customary. He makes use of relatively new sources of evidence of the two elements for the identification of custom: State practice and opinio juris. In particular, the book draws on the increasingly universal ratification of major human rights treaties and the materials generated by the Universal Periodic Review mechanism of the Human Rights Council. The book concludes that a large number of human rights norms may indeed be described as customary in nature, and that courts should make greater use of custom as a source of international law.
Contemporary human rights challenges : the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and its continuing relevance by Carla Ferstman
ISBN: 9780367481506
Publication Date: 2019
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) was drafted by the UN Commission on Human Rights in the aftermath of the World War II in an attempt to address the wrongs of the past and plan for a better future for all. With contributions from President Jimmy Carter, UNESCO Secretary General Audrey Azoulay and the former Archbishop of Canterbury Rowan Williams, this collection of essays, Contemporary Human Rights Challenges: The Universal Declaration of Human Rights and its Continuing Relevance, by leading international experts offers a timely contemporary view on the UDHR and its continuing relevance to today's issues. Reflecting the structure of the UDHR, the chapters, written by 28 academics, practitioners and activists, bring a contemporary perspective to the original principles proclaimed in the Declaration's 30 Articles. It will be a stimulating accessible read, with real world examples, for anyone involved in thinking about, designing or applying public policy, particularly government officials, politicians, lawyers, journalists and academics and those engaged in promoting social justice. Examined through these universal principles, which have enduring relevance, the authors grapple with some of today's most pressing challenges, some of which, for example equality and gender related rights, would not have been foreseen by the original drafters of the Declaration, who included Eleanor Roosevelt, René Cassin and John Humphrey. The essays cover a wide range of topics such as an individual's right to privacy in a digital age, freedom to practise one's religion and the right to redress, and make a compelling and detailed argument for the on-going importance and significance of the Declaration and human rights in our rapidly changing world.
Human Rights in Thick and Thin Societies by Seth D. Kaplan
ISBN: 9781108471213
Publication Date: 2018-08-16
Socio-centric societies have vibrant - albeit different - concepts of human flourishing than is typical in the individualistic West. These concepts influence the promotion of human rights, both in domestic contexts with religious minorities and in international contexts where Western ideals may clash with local norms. Human Rights in Thick and Thin Societies uncovers the original intentions of the drafters of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, finds inspiration from early leaders in the field like Eleanor Roosevelt, and examines the implications of recent advances in cultural psychology for understanding difference. The case studies included illustrate the need to vary the application of human rights in differing cultural environments, and the book suggests a new framework: a flexible universalism that returns to basics - focusing on the great evils of the human condition. This approach will help the human rights movement succeed in a multipolar era.
Historic Achievement of a Common Standard by Pinghua Sun
ISBN: 9789811083686
Publication Date: 2018-03-27
The subject of this book is human rights law, focusing on historic achievement of a common standard viewed from a perspective of Pengchun Chang's contributions to the drafting of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR). This is an original research, integrating different research methods: inter-disciplinary approaches, historical and comparative methods, and documentary research and so on. The research findings can be described briefly as follows: Chinese wisdom has played an important role in achieving a common standard for the establishment of the international human rights system, which can be seen by exploring P. C. Chang's contributions to the drafting of the UDHR. The target readers are global scholars and students in law, politics, philosophy, international relations, human rights law, legal history, religion and culture. This book will enable these potential readers to have a vivid picture of the Chinese contributions to the international human rights regime and to have a better understanding of the significance of the traditional Chinese culture and P. C. Chang's human rights philosophy of pluralism.
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights in the 21st Century by Gordon Brown (Editor)
ISBN: 9781783742189
Publication Date: 2016-04-11
The Global Citizenship Commission was convened, under the leadership of former British Prime Minister Gordon Brown and the auspices of NYU's Global Institute for Advanced Study, to re-examine the spirit and stirring words of The Universal Declaration of Human Rights. The result - this volume - offers a 21st-century commentary on the original document, furthering the work of human rights and illuminating the ideal of global citizenship. What does it mean for each of us to be members of a global community? Since 1948, the Declaration has stood as a beacon and a standard for a better world. Yet the work of making its ideals real is far from over. Hideous and systemic human rights abuses continue to be perpetrated at an alarming rate around the world. Too many people, particularly those in power, are hostile to human rights or indifferent to their claims. Meanwhile, our global interdependence deepens. Bringing together world leaders and thinkers in the fields of politics, ethics, and philosophy, the Commission set out to develop a common understanding of the meaning of global citizenship - one that arises from basic human rights and empowers every individual in the world. This landmark report affirms the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and seeks to renew the 1948 enterprise, and the very ideal of the human family, for our day and generation.
The Contentious History of the International Bill of Human Rights by Christopher N. J. Roberts
ISBN: 9781107601635
Publication Date: 2014-10-31
Today, the idea of human rights enjoys near-universal support; yet, there is deep disagreement about what human rights actually are - their true source of origin, how to study them, and how best to address their deficits. In this sweeping historical exploration, Christopher N. J. Roberts traces these contemporary conflicts back to their moments of inception and shows how more than a half century ago a series of contradictions worked their way into the International Bill of Human Rights, the foundation of the modern system of human rights. By viewing human rights as representations of human relations that emerge from struggle, this book charts a new path into the subject of human rights and offers a novel theory and methodology for rigorous empirical study.
The Development of International Human Rights Law by David Weissbrodt (Editor); Fionnuala D. Ní Aoláin
ISBN: 9781409441298
Publication Date: 2014-04-24
The essays selected for this volume, written by some of the world's most respected experts on human rights, encompass the development of human rights law from its philosophical underpinnings and address many of its current controversies. The collected essays explore the drafting of major human rights instruments, including the political challenges that shaped those instruments; examine the interrelationship of various claimed rights; and identify factors producing compliance with - and violation of - human rights law. Other contributions analyze the role of non-governmental organizations in achieving better human rights protections as well as the danger of claiming too many rights, and the tension between rights and security. Contrasting viewpoints in several essays highlight some of the key conflicts in the field. An introductory essay provides a roadmap marking the collection's major themes, and tracing the relationship between those themes. Taken together, the essays emphasize the legal underpinnings of the human rights regime and as such, the collection provides an essential, wide-ranging account of this important part of international law, procedure and practice.
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights by William A. Schabas (Editor)
ISBN: 9781107015500
Publication Date: 2013-04-18
A collection of United Nations documents associated with the drafting of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, these volumes facilitate research into the scope of, meaning of and intent behind the instrument's provisions. It permits an examination of the various drafts of what became the thirty articles of the Declaration, including one of the earliest documents - a compilation of human rights provisions from national constitutions, organised thematically. The documents are organised chronologically and thorough thematic indexing facilitates research into the origins of specific rights and norms. It is also annotated in order to provide information relating to names, places, events and concepts that might have been familiar in the late 1940s but are today more obscure.
International Human Rights Law by Mashood A. Baderin (Editor); Manisuli Ssenyonjo
ISBN: 9781409403593
Publication Date: 2010-11-28
This timely and valuable book explores the development of international human rights law over the last six decades. The volume brings together leading experts to reflect on different aspects of human rights law, not only considering and evaluating the developments so far, but also identifying relevant problems and proposing relevant possible perspectives for the continued positive future development of human rights law. The book is international in perspective, both in scope and context, and covers developments in the international protection of human rights since the adoption of the UDHR in 1948. The developments considered include the United Nations system of protecting human rights as well as regional human rights systems in Africa, America and Europe. It also considers some key themes relevant to human rights including globalisation, protecting human rights in emergency situations and trade sanctions, the development of human rights NGOs, and many others. The book will be an invaluable resource for students, academics and policy-makers working in the field of international human rights.
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights by Johannes Morsink
ISBN: 0812217470
Publication Date: 2000-05-08
Selected by Choice magazine as an Outstanding Academic Book for 1999 Born of a shared revulsion against the horrors of the Holocaust, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights has become the single most important statement of international ethics. It was inspired by and reflects the full scope of President Franklin Roosevelt's famous four freedoms: "the freedom of speech and expression, the freedom of worship, the freedom from want, and the freedom from fear." Written by a UN commission led by Eleanor Roosevelt and adopted in 1948, the Declaration has become the moral backbone of more than two hundred human rights instruments that are now a part of our world. The result of a truly international negotiating process, the document has been a source of hope and inspiration to thousands of groups and millions of oppressed individuals.
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights by Gudmundur Alfredsson (Contribution by, Editor); Asbjø Eide (Editor)
ISBN: 9041111689
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
This volume celebrates the 50th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR). In so doing, it offers a comprehensive and systematic treatment of the rights and duties contained in the UDHR, in the light of its history, the intentions of its drafters ant the standard-setting activities and monitoring efforts which have grown out of its existence. Each article of the UDHR is treated in a separate chapter; each chapter is written by different authors, all scholars from or associated with the Nordic countries, all active in human rights work, either academically or in the field. A consolidated bibliography completes the collection. The subtitle of this volume is "A Common Standard of Achievement," a phrase drawn from the Preamble of the UDHR. In many ways, this collection is intended to demonstrate that this phrase has, to a considerable extent, come true.

Related Libguides

Archives and Human Rights
by Rachel Forman Last Updated Apr 24, 2024 227 views this year
Conference primer - Human Rights Council
by UN Geneva Knowledge & Learning Commons Last Updated Sep 16, 2024 2698 views this year
Disability Inclusion
by Rachel Forman Last Updated Apr 26, 2024 150 views this year
Human Rights
by UN Geneva Library Last Updated Jul 15, 2024 0 views this year
Human Rights 75
by OHCHR Library Last Updated Jul 15, 2024 6243 views this year
Human Rights Special Procedures
by OHCHR Library Last Updated Jun 16, 2023 1173 views this year
Human Rights Timeline
by OHCHR Library Last Updated Jul 29, 2024 1255 views this year
International Commissions of Inquiry, Fact-finding Missions
by OHCHR Library Last Updated Jun 21, 2024 7924 views this year
Legal Research Guide
by UN Geneva Library Last Updated Sep 20, 2024 3186 views this year
People of African Descent
by UN Geneva Library Last Updated Jul 15, 2024 569 views this year
Racial Equality and Justice
by UN Geneva Library Last Updated Jul 15, 2024 162 views this year
UN Convention Against Torture (1984)
by UN Geneva Library Last Updated Sep 20, 2024 462 views this year
UN Documentation: Human Rights (by Dag Hammarskjöld Library)
by UN Libraries Last Updated Apr 26, 2019 0 views this year
Universal Declaration of Human Rights
by UN Geneva Library Last Updated Jul 29, 2024 3617 views this year
Universal Declaration of Human Rights for Children and Youth
by OHCHR Library Last Updated Mar 24, 2022 2289 views this year
World Conference on Human Rights, Vienna 1993
by OHCHR Library Last Updated Jun 16, 2023 1383 views this year

Databases for Human Rights Research

HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a full text archive of U.S. and Canadian law journals. The emphasis is on historical material that has not previously been available online or accessible through online indexes.
Note: Use this link when outside the Palais: LINK
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR gives access to a full-text searchable collection of leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All titles begin with volume one.UNOG Library subscribes to collections I, II and IV.
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Includes access to select e-journal subscriptions and open-access titles.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
The eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 220,200 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 179,800 downloadable full text documents in pdf format.Access: create your own free account in order to view full-text papers.
Oxford Scholarship Online: Law This link opens in a new window
Classic and new titles by Oxford University Press.
Note: If the above link does not work, then try to sign in on the site itself by the "Sign in via your Institution" option.
UN OHCHR Library Catalogue This link opens in a new window
Catalogue of the library for the OHCHR (Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights).
Brill E-Books: Human Rights and Humanitarian Law Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text electronic version selected Martinus Nijhoff Publishers books in the broad field of human rights and humanitarian law. UN Staff please access this content remotely by using this link.
Human Rights by Country (OHCHR) This link opens in a new window
Present human rights information and documents by country
UN OHCHR - Universal Human Rights Index This link opens in a new window
Provides access to country-related documents submitted to any of the UN human rights bodies, including the special procedures.

Human Rights 75: Home