Statistics Resource Guide

The Population Division is responsible for monitoring and appraisal of the broad range of areas in the field of population. It enhances coordination and cooperation among the organizations of the United Nations system through its participation in the Committee for the Coordination of Statistical Activities. The Population Division also distributes electronic population information in response to requests and to support coordination among the United Nations entities in the field of population.

The World Population Prospects is a round of global demographic estimates and projections undertaken by the Population Division of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat. The world population prospects are used widely throughout the United Nations and by many international organizations, research centers, academic researchers and the media.

This publication provides a set of country profiles showing the current situation and recent trends in population, resources, environment and development indicators, based on PRED Bank database.

Since 1988 the Population Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations has been issuing every two years revised and updated estimates and projections of the urban and rural populations of all countries in the world and of their major urban agglomerations.

Provides estimates on the number of international migrants in each country or area of the world from 1995 onwards.

The population statistics include: demographic data, demographic indicators, statistics on the population and housing censuses, population projections, migration and citizenship, residence permits, asylum statistics, and statistics on the enforcement of immigration legislation.

The Global Report on Human Settlements provides the most authoritative and up-to-date assessment of conditions and trends in the world’s cities and other human settlements.

The United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat) works to build inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable cities and communities. UN-Habitat works with international climate bodies and global city networks to influence climate policy and action, promoting the role of cities and human settlements in mitigation and adaptation.

The Generations and Gender Programme (GGP) is a system of national Generations and Gender Surveys (GGS) and contextual database, whose aim is to improve the knowledge base for policymaking in UNECE countries. GGP provides FREE data access to suport academic and policy research.

Annual UNFPA publication containing selected demographic, social and economic indicators.

This website contains UNICEF’s statistical information, including data used in UNICEF’s flagship publications, The State of the World’s Children and Progress for Children.

The United Nations Demographic Yearbook collects, compiles and disseminates official statistics on a wide range of topics. Data have been collected from national statistical authorities since 1948 through a set of questionnaires dispatched annually by the United Nations Statistics Division. Also available in print at the UNOG Library.

A guide to population information on UN system web sites.

HNPStats – the World Bank’s comprehensive database of Health, Nutrition and Population (HNP) statistics.

A compilation of statistical resources on education, demographics and school populations, psychology, gerontology, and social work.