Welcome to our resource guide for the League of Nations Archives!
The United Nations provides the materials contained on this web site, including reproductions of items from its collections, for non-commercial, personal, or research use only.
The United Nations holds the copyright for all archival materials produced by the organization and by the League of Nations. However, the United Nations generally does not own rights to secondary or external materials in its collections and cannot give or deny permission to publish or otherwise distribute these materials. It is the patron’s obligation to determine and satisfy copyright or other use restrictions when publishing or otherwise distributing materials found in the Archives’ collections.
Original files of the League of Nations
Secretariat of the League (correspondence and documents); the Refugees Mixed Archives Group (“Nansen Fonds”); Commission files (records of external League offices and entities).
International Peace Movements, 1870-, including the papers of Bertha von Suttner (1843-1914) and Alfred Fried (1864-1921), and the International Peace Bureau (1892-1951); Private Papers (1884-1986) contain materials from League of Nations officials and persons or associations related to the League of Nations, such as Sean Lester, Thanassis Aghnides, the International Association of Journalists, etc.
The League of Nations documents collection
Official publications (printed or mimeographed), minutes, working papers and documents of the various League organs.
The League of Nations Secretariat archives contain:
They are divided according to three administrative time periods: 1919-1927, 1928-1932, and 1933-1946. These time periods correspond to a number of administrative changes made at the League, including the separation, creation and elimination of various sections and sub-sections.