Research Guides: Knowledge and Learning Commons: Selected Resources: 2021

2021 Commons Events Resource Lists

2021.12.14 - The Accessibility Gathering

2021.11.04 - Event info
Find and Access Resources on Accessibility

The Accessibility Gathering

Resources from a previous event at the Knowledge and Learning Commons:

Watch the replay of the event by clicking on this link

The Accessibility Gathering presentation

Watch the replay of the event - New ways to be more accessible and productive with Office 365 and Teams - November 2021
A UN Geneva Knowledge & Learning Commons online learning session in collaboration with the UNOG Disability Inclusion Team and guest speaker Dean Halstead, Director of Accessibility at Microsoft (New York), on how Office 365 and Teams can help finding ways to be more productive in the new normal of virtual and remote work. It also focuses on how these new tools can help to support digital accessibility and more inclusive online meetings/sessions.
Watch the replay of the event - Advancing Accessibility in our Digital Work - May 2021
A UN Geneva Knowledge & Learning Commons online learning session in collaboration with the UNOG Disability Inclusion Team and guest speaker Carolyn P. Phillips, Director of Tools for Life and the National Pass It On Center at Georgia Institute of Technology.

Advancing Accessibility in our Digital Work slides presentation

Disability Inclusion Resource Guide by UN Library & Archives Geneva

Other resources:

UN x Microsoft Office 365 Learning Centre (for UN Staff)
Find the right Office 365 trainings for you!
Use this page to explore what each training offers and what fits best your work and profile.
Toolkit for inclusion of persons with disabilities (available for UN Secretariat Staff on iSeek Intranet)
Read more about the UN Disability Inclusion Strategy on the UN website
United Nations Disability Inclusion Strategy - PDF Document
Accessibility features on Windows 11
Microsoft Ability Summit 2021
The Ability Summit started in 2010 with a simple premise: to bring together employees with disabilities to share their best practices, pain points, and dreams.

The goals of the Ability Summit have evolved over the years but remained true at the core. To bring together people with disabilities, experts in their domains, along with designers, engineering, marketeers, HR professions and nerds together to talk, share, connect and learn how we Build, Imagine, Include and Empower.
Disability Answer Desk (DAD)
Disability Answer Desk is where customers with disabilities get support with Microsoft Office, Windows, and Xbox Accessibility. This includes product issues, accessibility questions, and use of assistive technology.
Enterprise Disability Answer Desk (eDAD)
Accessibility support for enterprise customers
DIAGRAM Center - Image Description Guidelines
The DIAGRAM Center is a Benetech initiative supported by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education Programs (Cooperative Agreement #H327B150001).
WebAIM - Web Accessibility for Designers
WebAIM (Web Accessibility In Mind) has provided comprehensive web accessibility solutions since 1999. These years of experience have made WebAIM one of the leading providers of web accessibility expertise internationally. WebAIM is a non-profit organization based at the Institute for Disability Research, Policy, and Practice at Utah State University.
WebAIM - Alternative Text

Resources from the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) is an international community that develops open standards to ensure the long-term growth of the Web.
The W3C Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) develops standards and support materials to help you understand and implement accessibility.

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Knowledge and Learning Commons
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources

2021.12.7&8 - An Introduction to UN Geneva Conferencing and Services for Diplomats

Find and Access Resources
2021.12.7 & 8 - Event info

Presentations:

Presentations Day 1
Find here the presentations of Tuesday 7 December:
- Division of Conference Management (Kira Kruglikova, Director)
- Protocol (Sergey Shaposhnikov), Petrol Card and Building Units
Presentations Day 2
Find here the presentations of Wednesday 8 December:
- Library Services Section
- Knowledge & Learning Commons
- Center for Learning and Multilingualism
- Institutional Memory Section
- Cultural Activities
- United Nations Information Service
- CAGI (International Geneva Welcome Center)
General Contacts document

Other resources:

Quick Guide - Key Resources & Services for Diplomats - Research Guides at United Nations Library & Archives Geneva (unog.ch)
Electronic Resources: Open Acces
Global Search is the tool for searching the UN Library Geneva's print collections and electronic resources, including thousands of free and open access e-books and e-journals.
Conference Primers: the Diplomat's Guide to Conferences in Geneva / Le guide du diplomate pour les conférences à Genève
The Conference Primers is a service provided by the Knowledge and Learning Commons, an innovative informal learning initiative of the United Nations Office at Geneva.
Centre d'Accueil de la Genève Internationale (CAGI) - Website

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Knowledge and Learning Commons - Website
Find all information about the Knowledge and Learning Commons on our website
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources

2021.12. 7& 8 - An Introduction to UN Geneva Conferencing and Services for Diplomats

2021.12.09. - The Digital Turn: Fostering Research on Multilateralism

Find and Access League of Nations Archives and further information resources
2021.12.09 - Event info

To learn more about the Total Digital Access to the League of Nations Archives Project (LONTAD):

UN Archives Geneva online platform
The UN Archives Geneva platform gives access to the fonds and collections managed by the United Nations Library and Archives in Geneva, including the archives of the United Nations in Geneva, the League of Nations (1919-1946), international peace movements (from 1870), and private papers.
Youtube video: LONTAD Project: Pre Digitization Workshop: Tools & Equipment
Historical archival documents must be properly prepared prior to digitization. This is a presentation of the preservation equipment which is needed in order to be able to do so. Visit lontad-project.unog.ch to find more information about the LONTAD Project.
The official website of The Total Digital Access to the League of Nations Archives project (LONTAD)
The project will ensure state-of-the-art free online access and the digital and physical preservation of the entirety of the archives of the League of Nations (1920-1946)
Follow us on Twitter
Ask an Archivist
Send us your question and we will answer by email / Envoyez-nous votre question et nous vous répondrons par courriel.
United Nations Historical Series
This series of publications offers a fresh and enlightening look into the history of the League of Nations involvement in social issues. The objective is to contribute to the literature on the history of international organizations and transnational history while also contributing to current dialogues on contemporary United Nations politics and policies in a way that draws upon lessons learnt from its historical predecessor.
HiSTORIES series on Youtube
View previous HiStories events at our Youtube playlist
'The Next Page' podcast: The World’s Most Traveled Document, with Gudrun Beger & Colin Wells #SpecialEpisode
The Next Page is the podcast of the United Nations Library Geneva. Join us as we work to advance the conversation on multilateralism!
'The Next Page' podcast: Multilateralism in Motion: the lasting
The Next Page is the podcast of the United Nations Library Geneva. Join us as we work to advance the conversation on multilateralism!
Books and Articles about the League in UN Library Geneva's Collections

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Access the History Helpline
View the answers to Frequently Asked Questions or send us your own!
Contact the Records Management Advisory Services (UN Staff)
Your daily work is documenting the history of the future!
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources

Go further - Engage with the history of the League of Nations!

Exhibitions/Museum
Guided Tours (here)

Virtual Exhibitions:
"100 Years of multilateralism" - Panel Exhibition
"War and Peace" - Bodmer Foundation
Celebrating 100 Years of Multilateralism in Geneva
The centenary is an opportunity for the UN and other actors to promote the relevance of achieving peace through multilateralism, by recalling the lessons of the past as we look to the future.

'The Next Page' podcast: episodes about the League of Nations
The Next Page is the podcast of the United Nations Library Geneva. Join us as we work to advance the conversation on multilateralism!

Database of Quotations
Find quotes from the League of Nations and the United Nations in our Database of Quotations.

HiSTORIES series: HiStories – The Digital Turn: Fostering Research on Multilateralism

2021.12.02 - Actualisation des connaissances et la prise en charge globale du “Covid long”

Find and Access to further information resources
2021.12.02 - Event info

Rafael, la plateforme d'informations post-covid
La première plateforme interactive francophone sur les symptômes post-COVID.
Consultation of Long Covid in The Geneva University Hospitals (Hôpitaux universitaires de Genève - HUG)
The Geneva University Hospitals (Hôpitaux universitaires de Genève) is one of the five university hospitals of Switzerland, and the largest one in the country.
Symptoms of Long Covid: The Geneva University Hospitals (Hôpitaux universitaires de Genève - HUG)
The Geneva University Hospitals (Hôpitaux universitaires de Genève) is one of the five university hospitals of Switzerland, and the largest one in the country.
Presentation of the psychiatric department of The Geneva University Hospitals
The Geneva University Hospitals (Hôpitaux universitaires de Genève) is one of the five university hospitals of Switzerland, and the largest one in the country.
Books and articles from the Library collection about long covid
Books and articles from the Library collection about covid and mental health
Books and articles from the Library collection about covid and professional life

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Access the History Helpline
View the answers to Frequently Asked Questions or send us your own!
Contact the Records Management Advisory Services (UN Staff)
Your daily work is documenting the history of the future!
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources

2021.12.02 - Actualisation des connaissances et la prise en charge globale du “Covid long”

2021.11.24 - COP26: Setting the tone for the conferences of tomorrow! Conferencing today and tomorrow – 2.

Find and Access to further information resources
2021.11.24 - Event info

PowerPoint presentation - COP26: Setting the tone for the conferences of tomorrow! - CTT2

More information on the topic:

Learn more about Conferencing Today and Tomorrow initiative
The iSeek page to the initiative led by DCM.

Shape the conferences of tomorrow! - Conferencing Today and Tomorrow - 2 on 21.10.2021
Link to watch the first CTT2 event organized on 21.10.2021.
United Nations Disability Inclusion Strategy (UNDIS)
Read the Secretary-General’s progress report on the implementation of the Strategy (October 2021).
General Assembly, Pattern of conferences, Committee on Conferences Substantive session of 2021
7–13 September 2021, Agenda item 4 Adoption of the report and proposed dates for the organizational and substantive sessions in 2022, A/AC.172/2021/L.3 (13 September 2021).
UN 2.0, Quintet of change
Driven by the Secretary-General's "Common Agenda".
United Nations, General Assembly, Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions, First report on the proposed programme budget for 2022
Official Records Seventy-sixth Session Supplement No. 7, A/76/7 (2021).
Key Resources & Services for Diplomats
The gateway to UN Library Geneva's print and electronic collections!
Conference Primers: the Diplomat's Guide to Conferences in Geneva

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources
Contact the Records Management Advisory Services (UN Staff)
Your daily work is documenting the history of the future!

2021.11.24 - COP26: Setting the tone for the conferences of tomorrow! Conferencing Today and Tomorrow - 2

2021.11.18 - Gender Equality - What Works? A Conversation with Professor Iris Bohnet

Find and Access to further information resources
2021.11.18 - Event info

Professor Bonhet's biography
Introduction on Professor Bohnet's book: What Works: Gender Equality by Design
Book of Professor Bohnet from the Library collection: What Works: Gender Equality by Design
Research Guides on Women and Gender Equality available at UN Library & Archives Geneva
Research Guides on Women and Global Diplomacy available at UN Library & Archives Geneva
Books and articles from the Library collection about gender equality
Books and articles from the Library collection about gender and equal opportunity
Books and articles from the Library collection about gender and employment discrimination
'The Next Page' podcast: Fatima Sator on how gender equality was included in the UN Charter, and the women of the global south that made it happen.
The Next Page is the podcast of the United Nations Library Geneva. Join us as we work to advance the conversation on multilateralism!
'The Next Page' podcast: Dr. Katharina Rietzler on recovering Women’s Thought in International Relations
The Next Page is the podcast of the United Nations Library Geneva. Join us as we work to advance the conversation on multilateralism!
'The Next Page' podcast: Women in Tech: why it matters with Doreen Bogdan-Martin
The Next Page is the podcast of the United Nations Library Geneva. Join us as we work to advance the conversation on multilateralism!

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Access the History Helpline
View the answers to Frequently Asked Questions or send us your own!
Contact the Records Management Advisory Services (UN Staff)
Your daily work is documenting the history of the future!
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources

2021.11.18 - Gender Equality - What Works? A Conversation with Professor Iris Bohnet

2021.11.04 - New Ways to be more Accessible and Productive with Office 365 and Teams

2021.11.04 - Event info
Find and Access Resources on Accessibility

New Ways to be more Accessible and Productive with Office 365 and Teams

Resources from a previous event at the Knowledge and Learning Commons:

Watch the replay of the event - Advancing Accessibility in our Digital Work - May 2021
A UN Geneva Knowledge & Learning Commons online learning session in collaboration with the UNOG Disability Inclusion Team and guest speaker Carolyn P. Phillips, Director of Tools for Life and the National Pass It On Center at Georgia Institute of Technology.

Advancing Accessibility in our Digital Work slides presentation

Disability Inclusion Resource Guide by UN Library & Archives Geneva

Other resources:

UN x Microsoft Office 365 Learning Centre (for UN Staff)
Find the right Office 365 trainings for you!
Use this page to explore what each training offers and what fits best your work and profile.
Toolkit for inclusion of persons with disabilities (available for UN Secretariat Staff on iSeek Intranet)
Read more about the UN Disability Inclusion Strategy on the UN website
United Nations Disability Inclusion Strategy - PDF Document
Accessibility features on Windows 11
Microsoft Ability Summit 2021
The Ability Summit started in 2010 with a simple premise: to bring together employees with disabilities to share their best practices, pain points, and dreams.

The goals of the Ability Summit have evolved over the years but remained true at the core. To bring together people with disabilities, experts in their domains, along with designers, engineering, marketeers, HR professions and nerds together to talk, share, connect and learn how we Build, Imagine, Include and Empower.
Disability Answer Desk (DAD)
Disability Answer Desk is where customers with disabilities get support with Microsoft Office, Windows, and Xbox Accessibility. This includes product issues, accessibility questions, and use of assistive technology.
Enterprise Disability Answer Desk (eDAD)
Accessibility support for enterprise customers
DIAGRAM Center - Image Description Guidelines
The DIAGRAM Center is a Benetech initiative supported by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education Programs (Cooperative Agreement #H327B150001).
WebAIM - Web Accessibility for Designers
WebAIM (Web Accessibility In Mind) has provided comprehensive web accessibility solutions since 1999. These years of experience have made WebAIM one of the leading providers of web accessibility expertise internationally. WebAIM is a non-profit organization based at the Institute for Disability Research, Policy, and Practice at Utah State University.
WebAIM - Alternative Text

Resources from the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Knowledge and Learning Commons
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources

2021.10.28 - Looking Forward: The Future of Work After the Pandemic

2021.10.28 - Event info
Find and Access to further information resources

2021.10.28 - Looking Forward: The Future of Work After the Pandemic

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Access the History Helpline
View the answers to Frequently Asked Questions or send us your own!
Contact the Records Management Advisory Services (UN Staff)
Your daily work is documenting the history of the future!
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources

2021.10.21 - Shape the conferences of tomorrow! Conferencing Today and Tomorrow - 2

Find and Access to further information resources
2021.10.21 - Event info

More information on the topic:

Learn more about Conferencing Today and Tomorrow initiative
The iSeek page to the initiative led by DCM.
United Nations Disability Inclusion Strategy (UNDIS)
Read the Secretary-General’s progress report on the implementation of the Strategy (October 2021).
General Assembly, Pattern of conferences, Committee on Conferences Substantive session of 2021
7–13 September 2021, Agenda item 4 Adoption of the report and proposed dates for the organizational and substantive sessions in 2022, A/AC.172/2021/L.3 (13 September 2021).
UN 2.0, Quintet of change
Driven by the Secretary-General's "Common Agenda".
United Nations, General Assembly, Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions, First report on the proposed programme budget for 2022
Official Records Seventy-sixth Session Supplement No. 7, A/76/7 (2021).
Key Resources & Services for Diplomats
The gateway to UN Library Geneva's print and electronic collections!
Conference Primers: the Diplomat's Guide to Conferences in Geneva

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources
Contact the Records Management Advisory Services (UN Staff)
Your daily work is documenting the history of the future!

2021.10.21 - Shape the conferences of tomorrow! Conferencing Today and Tomorrow - 2

21.10.08 - World Mental Health Day

Find and Access to further information resources
2021.10.08 - Event info

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Access the History Helpline
View the answers to Frequently Asked Questions or send us your own!
Contact the Records Management Advisory Services (UN Staff)
Your daily work is documenting the history of the future!
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources

21.10.08 - World Mental Health Day - TEST

2021.09.23 Managing Your Career in the Next Context

2021.09.23 - Event info
Find and Access to further information resources

2021.09.23 Managing Your Career Post-COVID

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Access the History Helpline
View the answers to Frequently Asked Questions or send us your own!
Contact the Records Management Advisory Services (UN Staff)
Your daily work is documenting the history of the future!
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources

2021.07.08. - The History of the Palais des Nations

2021.07.08 - Event info
Find and Access League of Nations Archives and further information resources

HiSTORIES series: The History of the Palais des Nations

To learn more about the League of Nations and access the resources presented today:

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Access the History Helpline
View the answers to Frequently Asked Questions or send us your own!
Contact the Records Management Advisory Services (UN Staff)
Your daily work is documenting the history of the future!
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources

Go further - Engage with the history of the League of Nations!

Total Digital Access to the League of Nations Archives Project (LONTAD)
The project will ensure state-of-the-art free online access and the digital and physical preservation of the entirety of the archives of the League of Nations (1920-1946)

Exhibitions/Museum
Guided Tours (here)

Virtual Exhibitions:
"100 Years of multilateralism" - Panel Exhibition
"War and Peace" - Bodmer Foundation
Celebrating 100 Years of Multilateralism in Geneva
The centenary is an opportunity for the UN and other actors to promote the relevance of achieving peace through multilateralism, by recalling the lessons of the past as we look to the future.

'The Next Page' podcast: episodes about the League of Nations
The Next Page is the podcast of the United Nations Library Geneva. Join us as we work to advance the conversation on multilateralism!

Database of Quotations
Find quotes from the League of Nations and the United Nations in our Database of Quotations.

2021.06.17 - Students Reinventing Cities Challenge: UNOG - UNIGE Conversations with Academia

2021.05.06 - Event info
Find and Access Resources on Sustainability

Students Reinventing Cities Challenge: UNOG - UNIGE Conversations with Academia

To learn more, see UN Geneva Librarians and Archivists' selection here.

Other resources:

PowerPoint Presentation - Students Reinventing Cities Challenge - UNOG - UNIGE Conversations with Academia

Students Reinventing Cities - Global competition website

Check out our books related to this topic from the #GlobalSearch catalogue:

Smart and Sustainable Cities? Pipedreams, Practicalities and Possibilities
Martin, Chris ; Voytenko Palgan, Yuliya ; Mccormick, Kes ; Raven, Rob ; Evans, James ; Karvonen, Andrew ; Luque-Ayala, Andres
2021
Rethinking sustainable cities: Accessible, green and fair
Simon, David
Bristol: Policy Press, 2016

Learn more about sustainable cities, smart and new cities by reading the articles from our catalogue:

Smart innovative cities: The impact of Smart City policies on urban innovation
Caragliu, Andrea ; Del Bo, Chiara F
Elsevier Inc
2019
Transitioning toward Sustainable Cities—Challenges of Collaboration and Integration
Van de Meene, Susan ; Bettini, Yvette ; Head, Brian W
2020
Smartmentality: The Smart City as Disciplinary Strategy
Vanolo, Alberto
London, England: Sage Publications, Ltd
2014

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Knowledge and Learning Commons
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources

2021.06.01 - Perspectives from HUG: The impact of COVID-19 on mental health

2021.05.06 - Event info
Find and Access Resources on Accessibility

Perspectives from HUG: The impact of COVID-19 on mental health

To learn more, see UN Geneva Librarians and Archivists' selection here.

Other resources:

PowerPoint Presentation - Perspectives from HUG - COVID-19 and Mental health

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Knowledge and Learning Commons
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources

2021.05.06 - Advancing Accessibility in our Digital Work

Find and Access Resources on Accessibility
2021.05.06 - Event info

Other resources:

Advancing Accessibility in our Digital Work slides presentation

Disability Inclusion Resource Guide by UN Library & Archives Geneva

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Knowledge and Learning Commons
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources

Advancing Accessibility in our Digital Work

To learn more, see UN Geneva Librarians and Archivists' selection here.

2021.04.29 - La tour de Babel numérique - Faites-vous entendre dans les réunions multilingues à distance

Find and Access Resources on Interpretation in remote meetings
2021.04.29 - Event info

To learn more and access the resources presented today:

We can help!

Fiche récapitulative pour préparer les réunions virtuelles avec interprétation

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources
Knowledge and Learning Commons

To learn more, see UN Geneva Librarians and Archivists' selection here.

2021.04.28 - The Digital Tower of Babel - Making yourself heard in remote multilingual meetings

Find and Access Resources on Interpretation in remote meetings
2021.04.28 - Event info

To learn more and access the resources presented today:

We can help!

Information sheet participating in remote multilingual meetings with interpretation

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources
Knowledge and Learning Commons

THE DIGITAL TOWER OF BABEL - MAKING YOURSELF HEARD IN REMOTE MULTILINGUAL MEETINGS

To learn more, see UN Geneva Librarians and Archivists' selection here.

2021.04.15 - Emotional Intelligence in the workplace

2021.04.15 - Event info
Find and Access Resources on Emotional Intelligence

Emotional Intelligence in the workplace

To learn more, see UN Geneva Librarians and Archivists' selection here.

To learn more and access the resources presented today:

The Importance of Emotional Intelligence in the Work Place
How to Improve Emotional Intelligence in the Workplace
How to Develop Your Emotional Intelligence at Work
How to Develop Emotional Intelligence in the Workplace: Tips and Strategies
A New Layered Model on Emotional Intelligence
Tripathy, Dr: EMOTIONAL INTELLIGENCE: AN OVERVIEW:
Emotional intelligence - Why It Can Matter More Than IQ by Daniel Goleman
Publication Date: 2005
Daniel Goleman’s website
Daniel Goleman is an internationally known psychologist who lectures frequently to professional groups, business audiences, and on college campuses. As a science journalist Goleman reported on the brain and behavioral sciences for The New York Times for many years.

TED Talks - The gift and power of emotional courage
Psychologist Susan David shares how the way we deal with our emotions shapes everything that matters: our actions, careers, relationships, health and happiness. In this deeply moving, humorous and potentially life-changing talk, she challenges a culture that prizes positivity over emotional truth and discusses the powerful strategies of emotional agility. A talk to share.
Susan David, About Emotional Agility
Publication Date: 2016
Susan David, The Talks
Susan David, The Quiz
United Nations Presentation: The Role of Mindfulness and Emotional Intelligence at Work
Rich Fernandez, Chief Executive Officer of SIYLI (see the link below), presents at the United Nations Headquarters on the role of mindfulness and emotional intelligence in organizations.
Siyli.org. Mindfulness and Emotional Intelligence Leadership Training

Other resources:

Resources list from the Staff Counsellor's Office
A list of useful resources on the UN workplace Mental Health and Well-Being Strategy, meditation, sleep, stress management, etc.

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Knowledge and Learning Commons
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources

2021.03.18 - Geneva Trialogue - Open Innovation and Digital Skills for the SDGs

Find and Access Resources on Innovation and Digital Skills
2021.03.18 - Event info

To learn more and access the resources presented today:

Publications on Innovation and Development available at UN Library & Archives Geneva
The SDG-Check: Guiding Open Innovation towards Sustainable Development Goals
New innovation approaches to support the implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals UNCTAD
Innovation in the UN System
Research guide by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources
Knowledge and Learning Commons
From summits to solutions : innovations in implementing the Sustainable Development Goals

Geneva Trialogue - Open Innovation and Digital Skills for the SDGs

To learn more, see UN Geneva Librarians and Archivists' selection here.

2021.03.11 - Fast is not a Direction - Harnessing Different Forms of Innovation

2021.03.11 - Event info
Find and Access Resources on Innovation

Fast Is Not A Direction - Harnessing different forms of innovation to address 21st century challenges

To learn more, see UN Geneva Librarians and Archivists' selection here.

To learn more and access the resources presented today:

Innovation for Development Impact Lessons from the OECD Development Assistance Committee by OECD
Publication Date: 2020
A framework for Science, technology and innovation policy reviews : harnessing innovation for sustainable development by United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, UNCTAD
Call Number: UNCTAD/DTL/STICT/2019/4
Publication Date: 2019

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources
Knowledge and Learning Commons

2021.02.18 - Information Literacy: A key to combat the infodemic in the time of COVID-19

2021.02.18 - Event info
Find and Access Resources on Information Literacy and Combatting Misinformation

HOMEINFORMATION LITERACY: A KEY TO COMBAT THE INFODEMIC IN THE TIME OF COVID-19

To learn more, see UN Geneva Librarians and Archivists' selection here.

To learn more and access the resources presented today:

Resource Guide: Information Literacy and Combatting Misinformation
Selected resources, tools, and services to support information literacy and combatting misinformation

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Access the History Helpline
View the answers to Frequently Asked Questions or send us your own!
Contact the Records Management Advisory Services (UN Staff)
Your daily work is documenting the history of the future!
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources

2021.01.26 - HiSTORIES series: Bertha von Suttner, A Woman Ahead of Her Time

2021.01.26 - Event info
Find and Access League of Nations Archives and further information resources

HiSTORIES series: The League of Nations Essentials: The World’s Most Travelled Documents A brief history of early passports and Nansen certificates

To learn more, see UN Geneva Librarians and Archivists' selection here.

To learn more about the League of Nations and access the resources presented today:

Resource Guide: Bertha von Suttner : A Woman Ahead of Her Time
Selected resources from UN Library & Archives collections. Includes information about the League of Nations Archives, as well as publications by and about Bertha von Suttner, and additional resources.

We can help!

Ask Us!
UN Library & Archives staff will gladly help you to find answers to your questions and to access the information and materials you need!
Access the History Helpline
View the answers to Frequently Asked Questions or send us your own!
Contact the Records Management Advisory Services (UN Staff)
Your daily work is documenting the history of the future!
Check the Current Status of UN Library & Archives Geneva services and facilities
Frequently Asked Questions about Access to Library resources

Go further - Engage with the history of the League of Nations!

Total Digital Access to the League of Nations Archives Project (LONTAD)
The project will ensure state-of-the-art free online access and the digital and physical preservation of the entirety of the archives of the League of Nations (1920-1946)

Exhibitions/Museum
Guided Tours (here)

Virtual Exhibitions:
"100 Years of multilateralism" - Panel Exhibition
"War and Peace" - Bodmer Foundation
Celebrating 100 Years of Multilateralism in Geneva
The centenary is an opportunity for the UN and other actors to promote the relevance of achieving peace through multilateralism, by recalling the lessons of the past as we look to the future.

'The Next Page' podcast: episodes about the League of Nations
The Next Page is the podcast of the United Nations Library Geneva. Join us as we work to advance the conversation on multilateralism!

Database of Quotations
Find quotes from the League of Nations and the United Nations in our Database of Quotations.